Skip to content

PBP: Dodona

February 24, 2012

“a year of exploring the Pagan world through blogging”

I don’t have a long nifty post for you, been having some physical issues this week on top of getting ready for my son’s 5th birthday party.  Yet, I wanted to post something for today…the options were either “disposing of offerings”  (something I’m still working through…your options are:  burn, bury, leave for animals or consume.  I bury during the non-ice covered months, libate or consume the rest of the time) or Dodona.  I went with the easy post…

The sanctuary of Dodona with a “newly” planted oak. The old had been cut down during the era of razing “Pagan” sanctuaries.

Dodona is a place I would LOVE to visit.  It tops my list of things I want to do…specifically sitting under the oak tree at the sanctuary.  The myths say that the site was establish by Deucalion and Pyrrha to honor Zeus after the flood.  Zeus Naios or Zeus Molossos (Zeus of the Molossians) was honored at this sanctuary along with Dione (who is variously described as Gaia, Hera or just a consort…I have wondered if it was Maia) though it was originally a dedicated to Gaia or Rhea.

This topic has been covered by numerous others so instead of rehashing, I’ll point you to the goods.

My mental image of Zeus at Dodona is found on Hellenic Spirit Arts.  Can’t wait to receive it.

Bronzes of Zeus and here from Dodona.

An excellent write up on Dodona can be found here.

Another one with some slightly different information.

Then there is the always wonderful Theoi.com.

The Pereus short write-up.

The Odysseus write-up.

I also had a blog post on it awhile back.

Leave a comment