Skip to content

Media and Links

December 29, 2011

I’ve been published in several new anthologies that I haven’t had the money to buy as of yet, but check them out.

There are a number of “Calls for Submissions” over at Bibliotheca Alexandrina you might want to check out.  Their current tiles are here and their forth coming titles are here.

Galina Krasskova has “posted two auctions on ebay. The proceeds for both will go (in full) to benefit the Maetreum of Cybele. This is a fully functioning, self-sustaining Pagan monastery (perhaps the only one in the US) located in Catskill, NY. For the past few years, they’ve been fighting the good fight, in court, against discrimination by their town, which objects to their status as a *Pagan* non-profit. Though they’ve repeatedly won in court, the town keeps appealing – driving up legal fees. I will personally match the end price of each auction and will be donating the full amount to the Maetreum. ”  Go here for the original post.  I’m delighted to say that one of the auctions contains the Zeus Devotional book that I edited.  I hope she gets a lot of bids!

I have updated my Stitching Items Trade list.  My stitching wishlist is here but I haven’t added to it in a while so am always open to suggestions.

Recently I have read Water for Elephants by Sarah Gruen.  I enjoyed reading about the behind the scenes activities of a train circus, especially after finding out the author took a number of the activities from actual circus histories. (WARNING!  Small Spoiler ahead!)  My favorite may be the elephant stealing lemonade.   I haven’t seen the movie, but if I get the opportunity I will despite my extreme dislike of Robert Pattinson.  I especially like how the author ended the book instead (WARNING!  Small Spoiler ahead!) of killing off the main character, which at 90 or 93 years old, would have been the easy way.

I also read Secondhand Spirits (Witchcraft Mystery Series #1) by Juliet Blackwell.  I don’t read Mystery genre (except for the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovitch) very often but I’m always a sucker for the metaphysical elements.  It was an entertaining book and I look forward to reading more in the series.

Last night I watched Monster House with my son.  He was a little young for it.  The beginning freaked him out and we almost turned it off several times.  Ultimately it had a good story and a good lesson to it that the younger set needs to learn about the harm judging someone by physical appearances can do.  Should have waited a couple more years before having him watch this one though.

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment