Skip to content

Halloween crafts

October 26, 2010

Other than the cross-stitch that I’m working on, this may very well be the last of my Halloween crafts.

For my son’s pre-school Halloween party, I made bat party favors.  (We are not allowed to take food in.  What a bummer.)  The ghost is what he painted the last time we went to the pottery shop.

bat party favor and ghost spoon rest

bracelet I wore with my Catrina costume

You wouldn't believe how hard it was to find the skull beads.

Another craft designed to remove all finger prints

Mummy for my mommy

For some reason, Day of the Dead skulls have just fascinated me this year.  So I ran with it never once resisting any inclination to decorate a skull.  My son did one too.

mini skulls

Last but not least, a project I’ve been wanting to do for YEARS!  I’ve always wanted a nice wtich’s hat, but was always too cheap to buy the pattern.  Then I found a free tutorial on the web thanks to craftgossip.com.  I was rather nervous about making it.  Turned out it was easier than I expected. I was surprised at some of the information left out (like bias width, should be 3/4″ to 1″, or how to deal with the wire ends on the brim, overlap them by at least 1″, I used 14-2 wire instead of the floral wire) or some of the methods they chose to use (put the wire in the cone BEFORE you sew it on to the brim, just make it 1/2″ shorter than the length of the cone to avoid catching it in the seam between brim and cone).  Because I need this hat for Thursday and because no one in this area carries bias tape (both of the ones I bought when I got the fabric were too narrow), I used black electrical tape as a temporary edge on the brim.  I also tacked the hat band on so that it would stay in place.  If your head is bigger around that 23 3/16 then either don’t use this pattern or figure out how to make it larger.  It fits me rather snugly.  At least I’ll have a harder time losing it to the wind.

My witchy hat

the back of the hat, modeled by my hubby

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 9:53 PM

    I agree, skull beads very hard to come by. Where did you get your day of the skull, skull? Luv the hat. Will be making ghosts and bats~ so cuuute.

    Like

    • October 26, 2010 9:56 PM

      I bought some plastic skulls at Kmart and decorated them with stickers and sharpies.

      Thanks!

      Like

Leave a comment