Skip to content

New book inspiration

October 26, 2010
tags: ,

So I received a nifty new book yesterday in the mail courtesy of a generous benefactor (Thanks EB!), Heroes:  Mortals and Myths in Ancient Greece.  It is so yummy…at least what I have read so far it is.  I hadn’t got very far into the book before Hermes and my muse were skipping around my head with a poem idea for one of NA’s devotionals.  So instead of spending the afternoon reading to satisfy my curiosity on why the ancient Greeks honored heroes, I spent it making sure I had my story correct.  Sheesh.  This book is over 300 pages of essays and pictures of intellectual numminess.  If it can’t give me a better understanding of the whole thing, nothing will.  I am mid-way through the first essay and I’m pleased that it is very readable and not scholarly babble.  I look forward to delving withing some more…as soon as the boy-child goes down for a nap.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2010 2:49 PM

    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh! Jealous much! Mercurial Woman please post avidly on this topic ~:-)

    Have just found out that all Mythological/Post-Jungian studies have been shut down in Australia~ it’s all self study from here. Would be great to have another kindred Spirit to share discussions with.

    Like

  2. October 26, 2010 5:38 PM

    Yeeeeeeah, so I really didn’t need to hear about this booky fun 😉

    Like

Leave a comment