Skip to content

When I am old

February 4, 2012
tags: ,

Inspired by a picture found on Facebook

my only hope is I have someone to be silly with when I am old.

When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
And make midnight margaritas while dancing around the dining room.
I shall wear witch hats and garlands that do not match my clothes.
And I shall spend my retirement on chocolate, books, jewelry
And leopard print shoes, then say we’ve no money for veggies.
I shall sit down on the stairs when I’m tired
And speak loudly in stores and ring wind chimes wherever I go
And trip those in baggy pants with my walking stick
And make up for my youth spent on the sidelines.
I shall go camping in long dresses and corsets
And leer at men in kilts and learn to speak like a Scot.

For when you are old you can wear mismatched clothes
And stick feathers and ribbons in your hair like a child
And burn three different types of incense at a go
And hoard crystals and candles and books and jewelry in boxes.

But now I must have clothes that don’t alienate other parents
And pay our dues and blend in with the crowd
And set a good example for our child and his friends.
We must associate with muggles and not let them know how silly we are.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple
And drink midnight margaritas.

Picture snagged from Star Foster.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

