Skip to content

Food Issues

February 5, 2016

so…been trying to get a handle on my food issues. It is looking very likely I have some form of histamine intolerance (HIT). I’m mostly writing this here to try and make some sense of things…ok and maybe to rant a little in my panic.  You’ll see why eating has become…difficult/stress-inducing of late.

The way I’ve seen it described is your gut is a bucket with a hole in the bottom.  There is a hose attached to the side of the bucket that is your body’s production of histamine.  If the bucket gets too low/blocked (say by antihistamines for a long period of time), it produces more but otherwise it is a pretty steady stream into the bucket.  You also put histamine into the bucket by what you eat and some foods, while they don’t have histamine, do cause an increase of histamines released.  Stress agitates the bucket causing it to slosh.

The best way to manage the system is to not let the bucket get too full of histamine so that it overflows or sloshes out.  This means eating nutritious, low-histamine foods (think using teaspoons to fill the bucket) with the occasional foray into nutritious, high histamine foods (cups or pitchers to fill the bucket).  There is no test to measure the volume that will fill your bucket and everyone’s reactions to foods differ so there are only guidelines and not hard and fast rules.  There are also many other reactions that go on in your body that are only vaguely understood which can help or hinder the process.  Not to mention that stress makes everything worse (slosh)

I found an app that is helpful in identifying potentially problem foods.  The biggies to avoid for me seem to be the histamine releasers or liberators.  The foods that I have the biggest issues with:  eggs (the whites), bananas, pineapples, etc. are all on the HIT list (or one of them as there are a bunch and rarely agree completely) of do not eat.

What is more troublesome and stressful (slosh, slosh) is some of the foods on the HIT no-no list such as tomato, soy sauce, most vinegars, alcohol, citrus, curry, aged cheeses…my favorite foods are BBQ, Mexican, Indian…all which contain most of these no-nos.  The lists are not exact because a lot of it is the individual (requiring trial and error) and how the food was handled and what chemicals (preservatives and such) are in it.  (slosh, slosh, slosh).

Mealtimes/cooking has gone from enjoyable to stress causing…what to fix, what can I eat, what substitution that will taste right, etc.  and since I’m not living on my own, my family is stuck putting up with a good part of this.  I can’t even talk about the potential problems with eating out.  (SLOSH)

So what are my physical symptoms?  Stomach aches, gas, soft stool to diarrhea…possibly some of the anxiety attacks that I’ve had…to who knows what else.  Not even sure if all of the stomach aches are HIT related or if there is also a fiber issue.

So yeah…that’s what I’ve been doing…every time I get hungry and sometimes between those times trying to figure things out.  Add in life, work, family, mental and physical requirements and insomnia.  I exhausted…and frazzled.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2016 7:01 PM

    oh, sweetie. how maddening. i’m sloshing just thinking of trying to navigate such a minefield. i have enough trouble just trying to rein in my sugar monster!
    will your insurance cover working with a good dietician? that sounds way too complex to keep wading through on your own.
    khairete
    suz

    Like

    • February 5, 2016 9:37 PM

      Our insurance doesn’t pay for much so I doubt it. (That’s a rant all on its own since Hubby figures it has about tripled in cost since Obama care went into effect.) Still paying off the last set of doctor and lab bills. After that it is Hubby’s turn to go in and once THAT is paid for I can think about going in. My understanding there isn’t any really good tests for this it is only because my problem foods showed up on a HIT list that I started investigating this. If I can not stress about it, it does seem to work but…I really hate the hoops and dragging others through them with me. I feel like a pain in the ass. Hubby, however, has been wonderfully supportive, not a peep of complaint.

      Like

  2. tempewytch permalink
    February 6, 2016 5:11 AM

    I’ve never heard of this! I hope you get it sorted out though hun.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. February 17, 2016 8:45 AM

    Discovered another symptom when my bucket runneth over…anxiety issues. Yesterday was 4 hours of being nervous and jittery from my body’s reactions to food. Fuck.

    When I apologized to my husband for making meal preparation difficult more, he got irritated with me saying that he doesn’t mind…I find it very upsetting, almost humiliating.

    Like

Leave a Reply

