Skip to content

Daily Happens: 12/6 – 12/12

December 14, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment.

 

12/6:  Got up, loaded up the boychild and went to my parents’.  My aunt and cousin were there also.  Evidently the aunt that is in a care home isn’t doing well and they are talking about hospice.  Contacted a friend who is a hospice nurse to make sure she does work at that facility.  Helped mom decorate the tree.  Boychild picked out gift for Hubby then back to the inlaws’ to watch the Bronco game.  Hubby home late on got a deer so will be going back out next weekend.  Rushed home to get the boychild in bed ASAP.  Starting to stress about money and gifts…

12/7:  Boychild and laundry.  Emotional today.  First set of yule cards sent out…mostly older relatives not on FB.  Home from work to find the boychild and Hubby struggling with our old lights…they just don’t make blinkers right any more (the fast blink are rather psychotic).  Guess I’ll try to buy some new lights tomorrow.  Secret Santa gifted me with a set of 50 crayola markers, day of the dead coloring book, jasmin candle and a snowman ornament.  Hubby driving me crazy tonight…I just want to throw something at him.

12/8:  Didn’t sleep well.  Another overly emotional day.  2nd round of cards mailed.  Quick run for lights.  A couple of ornaments designed.  Still no lights on the tree.  😦  Darn work and practicalities.  DWTS finale with Hubby (who is complaining about his OTHER shoulder now….ARRRRRRRRRRRGH!!!!!).

12/9:  Slept a bit better.  Still feeling weepy though, but no time for that I got holiday stuff to do!  Gifts boxed, checkbook balanced, laundry started…I WILL get stuff done today!   Ornaments.  Snuck in some reading.  One big gift mostly finished, just need one more thing for it.  Came home from work just exhausted, the lack of sleep is catching up.  Lights finally on our tree, trying to like it, trying really hard.  Was minimal help on cutting up the deer.

12/10:  Angry at inconsiderate others…found out about my aunt’s death on FACEBOOK.  She couldn’t fucking wait to post it until the family could be notified…attention seeking prat.  Stitched some, read some.  Told the boychild after the after-school program.  He got more upset than I expected.  Finished ornaments.  Packaged up gift for party.  Stitched.  When I contemplate my aunt’s passing, I get a panicky, tight chest feeling…I think somewhere in my subconscious my aunt’s death makes me worry about my mother dying…

12/11:  Woke up about 5:30…A few ornaments on the tree before the boychild left for school.  Thanks to a generous neighbor and a scavenge operation, I was able to finish the big gift.  Got it packaged up and loaded.  Made a smaller second one due to a spur of the moment push…  Laundry put away, packed…wondering what I’ve forgotten…trying to calm my racing heart…partially because of the upcoming funeral, partially the knowledge I’ll be going to this party without my husband…I hate going to parties without him…my security blanket.  Made it down without issues, had dinner with HS.  Gave her the dreamcatcher I made for their household and got a beautifully crocheted shawl in my favorite pattern with fidgit bits (aka long fringe).

12/12:  Shopping with HS and her hubby.   Almost got my shopping finished and managed to find a sparkly shirt for the party. Then the four of us went to the party together.  Enjoyed ourselves and boychild was well behaved despite the late night.  Boychild came home with a full stocking and I brought home the Star Wars edition of the game Operation.  Gave away some of the ornaments I had made.  They were a little hokey but at least my friends knew I was thinking of them…forgot to get pics though…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2015 7:18 PM

    Forgot to put that HS and her hubby were over the moon for their household gift. I look at it daily and feel a sense of peace I haven’t found much lately. ♡♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

