Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 11/1 – 11/7

November 7, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual, often just short chats with my gods.  I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

11/1:  slept in then got up, grabbed something to eat and started running errands.  Managed to get most of what we needed though I never did make it in to get a haircut.  Thanks to my MIL, boychild has a rather expensive pair of shoes…I hope he takes care of them.  Brief stop at my parents’ before heading home.  Started Eragon audio book. Got me a new coat (as I’m tired of wear one that is too short in the arms) and dinner.  Missed the first little bit of the Bronco game.  Offense did much better.  Had some smoky fireplace issues.  Found out one of Hubby’s cousins died when I was tagged on Facebook.  Thought that was rather tacky as such news deserves a phone call or at the very least a post in the private family group.  Today I am thankful for my mother-in-law.  As often as we disagree she is always willing to lend a helping hand.

11/2:  Boychild to school.  Nothing like finding out the death of your mother on FB.  Wow.  The disfunction in that part of the family amazes me.  A bit of housework and dinner prep for the boychild and MIL.  Work.  Lunch. Work.  Thankful for proliferation of cell towers because I can keep in contact with Hubby as necessary…and get phone calls.

11/3:  Boychild to school, MIL back down the hill.  Feeling a bit lonely this morning.  Yard work.  Post office to send off books to boychild’s cousin.  Work.  Grocery store…and then my evening blew up when the boychild decided to moan, groan, whine and pitch a fit because I told him he needed to do his housework.  He ended up going to bed without dinner, missed out on a movie for not doing his sweeping (which was actually a good thing as it  probably would have given him nightmares) and lost his legos for not emptying the dishwasher.  He said at one point “I’m going to tell dad on you!” So I dialed the phone and handed it to him.  Dad was not sympathetic.  Watched Jurassic World.  Love Pratt and that red head actually wasn’t a wimp…yay!  I’m really good at getting a fire going but not so good at scaling it back.  Living room is 77 degrees.  When I sat down at my desk before bed, I found some chocolate from my child.  He must have put it there before he went to bed.  Does this mean he learned his lesson or is he trying to bribe me?  It did make me smile.  Today I am thankful for a local lady who is a wonderful friend and has been very helpful!

11/4:  Boychild to school.  Feeling very blue and untouchable…could really use some hugs, missing my community of touchy-feelie friends.  Looked for a doorway fan.  Laundry put away and started.  Ordered said fans.  Work.  Home with boychild.  Evening started out badly but he straightened up…or at least I thought he had.  Hubby called so I went upstairs to what was supposed to be a darkened room, to find the light on and a book under his sheets.  So while Hubby chewed him out, I pulled his light bulbs.  Finished the book I started.  Today I’m thankful for having a working truck and for my hubby and his friend who fixed it.

11/5:  Boychild to school, a bit slick out there.  Crappy morning with him.  Laundry.  Decorated a t-shirt but it still needs a little work.  Meeting at 11pm.  Search for coloring pages.  Work.  Quick dinner.  Craft night with boychild who painted a candleholder.  Read some to the boychild.  DWTS.   Still blue but I do ok if I keep busy.  Today, I’m thankful for my cat, Leo.  He’s been quite the cuddlebug the last few days which is soothing.

11/6:  Dreamed I was dating Derek Hough last night…  Boychild to school.  Halloween decorations gathered together.  Laundry.  Finished t-shirt…not exactly how I wanted it but it will do.  Decorations put away.  Picked up boychild, came home and left him in the truck for being rude…he’ll get out when  he’s tired of sitting there or when he needs to go to the bathroom.  His attitude once again cost him the activity I had planned.  Hot and sour soup for dinner.  Played a couple of games of Jumble plus story before putting my argumentative child to bed.  He exhausts me.  Today I am thankful for bedtimes… Hubby called.  Watched a show on the DVR.  Finished laundry.

11/7:  Not only did my child wake me up but he grabbed the library books that I had taken away from him for his misbehavior.  So no bringing home books for a while and no muffins for breakfast.  Another shitty day thanks to my not so adorable child.  Either I’m the worst mother ever and need to be put away or my child is in a nasty phase of development which neither of us may survive.  Finally made it through some of his drawers and toys.  He seems to have ONE pair of pants that does not have a hole in it.  ONE!  Got rid of some crap but couldn’t get him to weed out his toys and I’ve lost the energy to force him.  There are a number of items that he doesn’t play with… Crying jag…which may have made him stop and think as the rest of the day went fine.  Since we read book 4, we watched Harry Potter #4 which put him in bed a tad late.  Hubby called still no animal.  Today I’m thankful for cooking skills.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

