Skip to content

Daily Practices: 10/25 – 10/31

November 1, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual, often just short chats with my gods.  I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

10/25:  A little bit of housework, chatting with an old friend in need of some emotional bolstering and sewing.  Hubby spent the day and most of the evening working on my truck.  He finally stopped about 11pm.  He’s close but not quite done.  I’m a bit worried about him to be honest…afraid he’s overdone it as he’s complaining alot about his arms.

10/26:  slept very little last night.  I’m finding that the estrogen patches are only good for about 3 days so that fourth night is a sleepless one.  Have no energy so I worked on writing a long overdue blog.  Work.  Lunch.  Work.  Hubby picked me up in the truck but now the check engine light has come on…  Hubby muttered something about gas in the cylinders and it will probably work its way out…

10/27:  I think (hope) that it was stress that kept me from sleeping and not that the patches aren’t working for me…exhausted this morning.  DD.  Doc called.  Laundry.  Worked more on hemming costume.  Work.  Cold and snowy but at least there is fire in the stove.  Hubby was sweet and picked up my prescription…but ended up paying TWICE what I paid for it last time.  Full moon offerings and reading.

10/28:  Will be getting a refund from the pharmacy.  Laundry.  Preparing costume for tomorrow.  Errands.  My coworker will not be there tomorrow so I need to get with my helper and plan out tomorrow’s after school club.  Engine seems to be skipping and the check engine light came on.  Found a batman costume for a really good price.  All I wanted was a mask but couldn’t find just the mask.  Writing issues with boychild today.  I’m really stressed.  I got a lot to do and in a short amount of time…and the truck…fuck.  Work.  Home, Hubby swears it is an easy fix on the truck.  More hem help.  Printing out items needed for tomorrow.

10/29:  Finished my costume.  Note to self:  remember to take into account the fact that the item will be belted when doing hem.  Yeah, it is a couple inches shorter than I would like when belted.  Nothing I can do about it now.  I was aiming for the top of my feet and it is about ankle level when belted.  Need a better belt too.  Got a call from the doc.  Pap Smear came back abnormal, need to have another test done.  Work, 25 rambunctious kids K-7…there is a reason I’m not a teacher.  Home to a very pissed off Hubby who made the even worse decision to start work on our fireplace instead of my truck or his packing.  5 hours later, he is just beginning to check the newer problems on my truck and he is so frazzled and out of sorts that he doesn’t know what to do.  I’m trying to update his GPS but they have no record of his map purchases on file…you know the “lifetime updates” maps… Got his clothes packed and tried to help him out as needed.  Crawled into bed about 1:15am.

10/30:  Stressed.  No idea if I’m going to be able to leave town or not.  Boychild’s party today.  I need to be ready to go before I go help set up.  Just to add to the chaos…it snowed some more last night.  Poked at Hubby until he got going.  Packed and prepped.  Party set-up.  Costume.  Home to say bye to Hubby who had repaired my truck so no more shudders.  Loaded up and started to head out when the truck started acting up again.  Long story short, u-joint puked some parts.  Back home partially unloaded.  A friend of Hubby’s will fix it tomorrow.  Cut my own kindling ’cause Hubby forgot.  Tired shoulders.  I carved 2 pumpkins and cleaned up the thick parts on the boychild’s…shoulders are pretty whiney.

10/31:  Waiting on the friend, a little worried that he forgot or got distracted.  Finished reading Harry Potter #4 to boychild.  Friend arrived shortly after noon.  Was gone before 1 but it took us a little time to get reloaded up and on the road.  Was in town by 4.  Went trick or treating the niece and nephew, then my sister and I went to my cousin’s party.  Was fine for what it was…I’m not a big drinker so it wasn’t as thrilling for me as for some but did get in a game of Cards Against Humanity.  Was my sister’s first time of playing it.  Was great to see some of the family that I haven’t seen for a while.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

