Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 10/11 – 10/17

October 17, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual, often just short chats with my gods.  I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

10/11:  Had an easy time getting up this morning so I must be catching up on my sleep.  Finished my book.  Made kale chips.  Watched the Bronco game and stitched.  Almost finished with the skull stack.  Lots of lectures for the boychild tonight.  Hubby struggled with the truck today and didn’t seem to get much accomplished.  Hopefully tomorrow is a better day.

10/12:  Day off.  Stepping WAAAAAYYYY out of my comfort zone and sewing me up a Guinevere/medieval/sorceress costume out of some fabric I found in my stash.  Looks relatively simple…5 cuts and sew it up…let’s see how I can screw it up…messed up the neck hole, plenty of fabric so fixable.  Shorten the sleeves as they were dragging the floor.  Need to get someone to help me with figuring out the bottom hem and then maybe add some decorative accents.  This at least distracted me from the stress pile that is my truck.  Hubby is having to practically take it completely apart to replace the slave cylinder and he still didn’t get to it after day 3.  Having lots of problems with rusted bolts that won’t loosen up…can’t afford to replace the parts…so he works at ’em.

10/13: Got wrapped up in my issues and forgot to do something to mark the dark moon.  Did a Lenormand reading today to see if I should do something for the dark moon or Noumenia:  Sun (yes, beginnings), Tower (structured, formal), book (written), ring (cyclical), mouse (lesser).  I took this to mean do the noumenia, do an actual ritual, the one you wrote and do the short ritual not the long one.  Sometimes the clearness of divination is a bit startling.  Hubby is up and moving this morning in hopes of getting some clients out of the way so that he can take me to work and then continue the truck repair.  Ritual.  Laundry started. Work to find that my immediate boss quit…the stress level has tripled at work.  Started another book…yeah I’m hiding. Feeling a bit calmer but still undecided over what to do about work.  Hubby told me he wouldn’t be upset if I lost my job or even if I quit.  He told me to ride it out for a couple of weeks to see what happens.  Problem is, I love my job and like most of the people I work with…it is only two people who more often than not make work very tense.

10/14:  Boychild has school pictures today.  Finished my book. Laundry.  The later it gets, the more tense I feel…  Little bit of housework.  Walked to pick up boychild, dropping off some things along the way and didn’t hear my phone ring, so Hubby showed up too.  Oops.  Work was a bit better, less stressful.

10/15:  Not sure what I did today…not much.  Thursday afternoon club at the library.  Truck still isn’t fixed.  Hubby thinks he can get it done tomorrow…I’m not holding my breath.  FYI, if he had allowed me to take that car that my dad wanted to give us, we would not be in this situation.  I’m straining not to say any of these negative things to my husband but I’m SO frustrated with the situation.  Found out a dear but very busy friend with some brain issues is 22 weeks pregnant.  Pray for her.  Pray lots.  She can’t take any pain medication while pregnant…that’s one strong lady.

10/16:  Had a nice, long conversation with my sister this morning. Finished laundry and sort of packed just in case repairs went better than I expected…which they didn’t. Gathering at work…we’re tying a baby quilt for my co-worker whose first child is due in about a week.  Found out the unofficial assistant director is not the official assistant director (along with being head of tech, geneology and maintenance/housekeeping).  My child today told me that if I’d go to gymnastics I wouldn’t be fat any more.  I did NOT handle it graciously.  Craft plans for tomorrow.  Started a book.

10/17:  Feeling a bit blue and bummed that we are missing the Dfest staff potluck.  Not to mention I had a bunch of errands to run.  Crafted a little.  Read.  Tried a different green chili recipe.  It was fine.  My green chile just doesn’t turn out like I want.  Boychild got his door back.  Finished book.  Not sure if Hubby made good progress today or not…I’m afraid to ask.  DWTS

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

