Skip to content

Daily Practices: 10/4 – 10/10

October 11, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual, often just short chats with my gods.  I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

10/4:  I was the last one to get up this morning.  As soon as I got up, Hubby went back to working on the stove pipe and I worked on removing caulk in the bathroom, then cleaned most of it.  He got everything in place and adjusted well before before the Bronco game started.  We fired up the stove and it works beautifully.  First time since we moved in that our house was this warm and it wasn’t summer.  I cleaned up the mess while Hubby started the simmering the tomatoes for his spaghetti sauce, one of the dishes he takes for his elk hunting trip at the end of the month.  We have a meal out of it and he freezes the rest.  Watched the Bronco game which they managed to win though I was starting to worry at the end.  Dog seems better today.  Did check one cat to make sure he’s tick free.  Watched Fast and Furious 7 with the Hubby…yes he actually watched a movie with me.  Enjoyed it but were confused by a few things.  Need to rewatch 6.  Stove had the upstairs at 69F which is warmer than I would like for sleeping but not going to complain.

10/5:  Slept very little.  Changed patch today.Got up and the living room was still over 70, bed room still at 69, coldest area was the back of the house at 66…not too shabby.  We’ll see what it is like during the cold weather but should save us money…YAY!  Working on an online picture storage, tagging and what not.  Go to leave for work and my clutch no workie.  Hubby has to play chauffeur until its fixed.  Work.  Lunch and help boychild with homework.  Work.  Hubby drops us off then heads back to work.

10/6:  Had a hard time falling asleep but slept ok once I did.  After some searching and some not so literal praying, I edited some registries and added a new library to get my MS Money program working again.   Much relieved as I couldn’t find anything out there other than Quickbooks that looked promising.  I also got laundry started.  Work.  Helped boychild with homework.  Tagging more photos.

10/7:  Lack of motivation.  Laundry.  Phone call that stressed me out and I don’t even live there.  Bummer boychild’s legos don’t all fit into the table…I didn’t think they would but I hoped.  Tested product.  Didn’t do much.  Boychild and his homework then work.  Home.  Had problems with the woodstove but we did discover that the damper has parts that were changed due to known issues with it so trying to find the parts for it…20 year old parts.  Need to figure out a passive way to push more heat to the back of the house.  Tired of the house smelling of wood smoke, hopefully once we get the damper “fixed” it will be less of an issue.

10/8:  Didn’t sleep well.  Changed patch. Tired, blue and grumpy.  First day of Afternoon Club at work today I go in about an 45 minutes earlier than last year and stay 15 minutes longer.  Aired out the house and cleaned up around the stove.  Bowls of vinegar placed to cut down on smoke smell, found some nice containers for wood and such to clean the area up.  Sold the jean jacket I don’t wear.  Got a call that boychild’s school was done for the week due to a possible gas leak.  Walked to pick him up.  Work.  More smokiness problems.  We think we’ve got the issue figured out just waiting on parts.

10/9:  got to sleep in since the boychild doesn’t have school.  Got him on one of his school’s computer programs and discovered he doesn’t have a solid understanding of fractions.  Worked with him on that…which took way more patience than necessary.  I’m so over his mouthiness but nothing I try seems to get him to stop.  So frustrating.  Also the whole “don’t help him” idea doesn’t sit well with me when he is pitching a fit ’cause he can’t figure it out.  So not teacher here.  Stitched…so close to finishing this trade piece.  Finally found the oomph to clean up my flower beds…I expect a lot of volunteer flowers as we just haven’t been paying the garden much attention (in other words, no dead heading).  Still hoping the sunflower will bloom…  DWTS. Tried butternut squash tonight…seems more like something for dessert.

10/10:  Finished the book I started last night.  Cleaned up/out my fabric stash a little bit.  Not motivated to do much though.  Finished up the too thin potholders…hung them up any way.  Thinking  of adding a cauldron felt applique to make it a little more thick. More work on the uploaded photos…mostly just taggin’.  Boychild was atrocious at dinner but we did find some pretty good fried ice cream.  Hubby is having to practically dismantle my truck to fix it.  He’s stressing me out about it.  I wish we could have traded it in or something…  Hiding in a book.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

