Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 9/27 – 10/3

October 4, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual, often just short chats with my gods.  I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

9/27:  didn’t sleep well at all…packed up and went to my mom’s while Hubby did work for a client.  By mid-afternoon I was ready for home.  Drove home while listening to the Narnia audio book.  Grocery shopping.  Whipped up a chicken buffalo dip to eat with veggies and bread while watching the game with the boychild.  At half time, went and check out the eclipse.  Boychild to bed just as Hubby got home.  Done speaking with Hubby for the night as he has yelled at me over 3 different things in a space of 90 minutes.  Yay for Mercury retrograde!

9/28:  slept a bit better but didn’t fall asleep until after 2am.  Crazy hair day for the boychild, put in hair chalk.  Called insurance, have to meet deductible first before they are reasonable about prescription prices.  Manufacturer does have a discount card…hoped that will make it more reasonable…which it didn’t.  Discount cards only work if your insurance covers something…”they still want to make money” is what they pharmacist told me.  [head/desk] Rape is what it is…mad at the world. Finish my book.  Soul Coaching cards:  Me-Playfulness, Goal-Peace, know-enthusiasm…a good set of cards to head to work on.  Work.  Lunch. Work. Dinner.  Help boychild scrub his scalp and pop him into bed.

9/29:  Nurse practitioner called in a pill that was even more expensive than the damn patch.  Thankfully the pharmacist is working with me on this, bless the man.  Hubby wants me to spend the money for the patch.  So doing the patch.  The whole thing is freaking ridiculous!  Laundry started, play table sold, kitchen cleaned up.  Work.  Help boychild with homework.  Dinner.  Planned on watching a movie with Hubby but…he’s in a tizzy over supplyhouse snafus…  Designed a skeleton chart to represent the ancestors for my CAL.  Titled it “As I am, you shall be.”

9/30:  Need to put something at the base of the stairs to keep the dog from going up but that is easily navigable by us in the middle of the night.  It sounded like the dog fell down the stairs about 5am…not sure if he did but… Laundry.  Starting to do the final shift of the boychild’s stuff from Hubby’s office now that we got rid of the play table the student desk can come down. Despite the lack of energy and desire, I got some housework done…I so hope this patch works for me…my HS says it will. Dinner of pork in crockpot, new recipe.  Picked up my patches, will start them tomorrow on a Monday, Thursday schedule.  Work. Home to find no one home.  Boychild dropped off.  Hubby finally got the parts he needs but will be working really late to get everything installed for an inspection tomorrow.

10/1:  I’ve done it.  I put the patch on.  I confess I’m a bit nervous for several reasons…drug warnings about everything that could go wrong top the list, the spending of money, the not knowing if it will work…I also find myself a bit disappointed with myself for even having to use it.  I kind of feel like I failed myself by having to even resort to it.  Which is a bit silly but still.  I delayed as long as I could trying everything under the sun (I’m guessing I was peri-menopausal shortly after the birth of my child in 2007, I haven’t had a period since July 2013) it seems like but finally it was the insomnia that finished that for me.  2-4 hours a night isn’t enough…but what if this doesn’t work…have I caused more problems than I solved?  Doesn’t help that I slept very little worrying about Hubby…not sure when he made it home but I know it was after 5am.  Stitched while finishing audiobook.  Don’t have the energy to do much…don’t envy Hubby who has a full day. Watched a couple DVR’d episodes.  Upgraded to Windows 10.  To add to everything else…Hubby still hasn’t received money owed and the dog has fleas…I assume he got them when he was over at my mother’s…my sister has mentioned that she think one of the neighbors has an issue.  So I spent my evening cleaning up the house after we washed the dog.  Hopefully we got ’em all…please?!

10/2:  slept better.  No motivation.  Painted some pine cones.  Ran errands, sprayed dog’s pillow and the bedroom carpets for the fleas.  Put some liquid on Kory that should kill the remaining fleas and keep him from getting reinfected.  MSMoney no workie with Windows 10 damn it.  Now to figure out how to replace it.  Long conversation with boychild’s teacher.  Hubby got home and decided we needed to do some more food prep so while he roasted tomatoes, I froze the ones we were not roasting and parboiled the small potatoes to freeze.  Before bed we packaged them up and froze ’em.  Hubby got to shut himself in the office with all the animals while the carpet in the rest of the house dried from the flea spray.  Will do his office tomorrow after covering the fish tank.  Maybe overkill but I don’t know what else to do…

10/3:  Slept in.  Hubby worked on getting the fireplace pipe installed.  Yay for fireplace (boo for dusty mess).  Helped Hubby when I could, sewed when I couldn’t (and when I wasn’t wanting to ring the boychild’s neck).  I shortened sleeves on one shirt, tried to fix the bottom of another, add lace to the sleeves of another whose serged stitched came out, sewed up two hot pot holders (not thick enough damn it) and started sewing one of my cross stitched signs for the kitchen.  Picked up a small lego table for the boychild, not sure why we were so generous…I can always resell it at a later date.  Hubby didn’t get the fireplace finished.  Gave the dog another bath.  Made bacon topped jalapeno poppers which were way too spicy for me.  Gave the dog another bath and rubbed him with cedar oil…not sure what else to do for those damn fleas.  Was asked to write a prayer for the Lithuanian fire/hearth goddess…how’s that for timing?  Hubby’s stressing hard…one simple question lead to a 20 minute rant…

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

