Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 8/23 – 8/29

August 30, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

8/23:  Didn’t want to get up this morning.  Poked at Hubby so he’d get up and go to work so he could hopefully come home at a descent time.   Ran some unsuccessful errands.  While waiting on Hubby I realized I forgot an errand.  Ran that, loaded up the truck to meet Hubby on the edge of town for dinner only to get a call saying to go on without him.  He had a mishap and didn’t know when he’d be able to leave.  Bummed out.  Grabbed a quick dinner.  Got home to find my house smelling of kerosene thanks to something in the trash in the garage.  Beeswax candles lit and windows open.  Luckily the upstairs doesn’t smell.  Got the boychild showered and put to bed.  Just waiting for Hubby to get home so that I can go to bed.  He got home about 10:30.

8/24:  slept hard, didn’t want to get up…no motivation.  Stitched a little on CAL.  Laundry put away.  Cleaned toilet…like this toilet except that it doesn’t wash down the “walls” well enough.  Work. Lunch. Work.  Tired, feet hurt…long boring days are always exhausting.  Isis word cloud.

8/25:  Hard to wake up again this morning.  Balanced checkbook.  In the process of starting laundry, I found something in the boychild’s room that isn’t his…it is mine and he stole it out of my jewelry box.  Not sure where I’ve gone wrong but I’m upset, angry and worried about where this is leading.  I could just scream!  Or cry!  Stressful day at work.  Boychild continues variations of his antics.  He couldn’t give me a good reason for his actions beyond wanting a trophy to put on his altar.  Was supposed to clean up his room but gave me excuses for not cleaning under his bed…you know the area that started this whole fiasco…  I’m at my wit’s end.  And angry, so damn angry.  Started watching Magic Mike.  It isn’t just me that is angry and confused…Hubby spent all evening making cutting boards…lots of sanding and such…

8/26:  Finished Magic Mike…and other than watching Tatum dance, I didn’t care for it.  The story line was trite, the other strippers weren’t that good and I just wanted to smack the snot out of “Adam”.  Glad I didn’t pay to see it.  Cleaned up the boychild’s room and vacuumed…it isn’t as bad as it was yesterday but better than I expected.  His losses were smaller than I expected.  Laundry.  Once large zucchini processed and 2 loaves of zucchini bread made, leaving me several cups for soups and a fruit and zucchini bread.  Work.  BA Board meeting.  Meeting notes.  Read.  Argued with Hubby over punishment for boychild.  It is taking too long to do this and part of the problem with it is Hubby.  He feels the punishments I choose punish more than the child yet he doesn’t have any better ideas.  He walked off on me last night ’cause he got so pissed.  We did agree to one month without electronics for the theft.

8/27:  Did tell boychild about the theft punishment.  He just sighed in resignation.  Finishing laundry.  Need to clean house, full of I don’t wannas.  Finished my book.  Grocery shopping.  Arguments with the boychild…got so bad at one point that he tried to give me chocolate as a peace offering.  Craft night.  An important conversation with the boychild over dinner (where I ate way too much!).  I can only hope that we got through to him.  Trying to read a book that I need to review but the more I read the more doubt I have about the scholarship of the piece.  It is disappointing and I’m not sure I can finish it.

8/28:  Total mama fail this morning.  I do not handle a mouthy child well at any time of day but I have no strength to deal with it early in the morning.  Happy Parent Pledge.  Should be cleaning house, phooey.  Cleaned the boychild’s toy garage today.  I warned him that I would check his work.  I think the most irritating things I found were food related but I did get to weed out more toys, magazines and books.  Watched a show youtube, picked up the boychild and finished my audio book.  Argued with boychild, got him to do his housework as I did mine, pulled carpet off upper part of stairs adding a few more scars to my collection.  Friends up for the weekend…Hubby gets a coworker and I get a companion!  Boychild caught reading after lights out…I have a new flashlight now and he’s lost his book.

8/29:  Wandered down to the farmer’s market then gathered up a picnic lunch and took HS to our favorite picnic spot.  Wandered around for a while then came back and relaxed.  Got an necklace and earring gift set in the mail from one of my camping mates, two kneeling Isises framing the eye of Horus.  A protection and healing symbol.  The earrings are hearts with the eyes of Horus and Ra.  Can’t use the chain has it irritates my skin but that isn’t a problem. We had a hurried dinner before taking HS to the full moon walk near the local river.  It wasn’t as nifty as I expected…too many flashlights and clouds.  Great idea but not so great execution.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

