Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 8/10 – 8/15

August 17, 2015

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

8/10:  Woke up way too early so made use of my time by packing what I could.  Hubby very kindly made me breakfast before I left.  It took me almost 3 hours to get home thanks to idiots, assholes and road construction.  Barely had enough time to shower and eat before going in…I won’t do that again.  Too stressful to try and make it there, then worry all day about the guys and feel guilty for not being there to help.  Told the boss too.  BTW, having to wear a bra after being bra free for 10 days sucks…and over the sunburn too.  Missing a necklace.  Pets seem fine.  Boychild and Hubby got home before 10pm…too late to unpack.

8/11:  Woke up earlier than I would like.  Laundry.  Worked on emptying the camper.  Found my missing necklace.  Work.  Dinner with all three of us working together.  Putting clean items back in camper.  Watched American Sniper with Hubby.  So sad…my heart hurts for our soldiers…

8/12:  Didn’t sleep well last night.  Low motivation.  Laundry.  Bought boychild a few shirts for school.  Babysat a friend’s kids, “rescued” Hubby when the van broke down and scurried to work.  Came home to find they’d only gotten home a little bit before me so we walked down to main street for dinner.  Having problems with my feet and lower back.  I suspect it is my hips acting up.

8/13:  Slept later than expected…though the sun woke me up about 6:30 I fell back to sleep.  Morning text from fellow devotee that I’m gonna call Priestly reminding me to honor Isis today.  We both agreed we were bad about daily devotions and are trying to help each other out.  Low motivations…I really just want to sit around and do NOTHING.  More laundry.  Worked out in hopes of stretching out my hips and stopping my foot pain.  Read 2 chapters of Harry #4 to the boychild.  Craft night.  Puttering in the garage with Hubby…we are supposed to be packing… Menu planning.  Honestly I don’t want to go…I’d rather stay home since my favorite people had to back out.  Trying to do this with good grace…I’d rather pout.

8/14:  goodgracegoodgracegoodgrace.  Laundry put away and clothes packed.  Bratty child and grumpy impatient mother…and it didn’t improve from there…so glad when bedtime came.  At one point I was left alone at the fire.  I reviewed my month mentally but found myself dozing.  I was wrapped in my cloak, nice and warm, and had the sound of the creek.  I kept dozing off…I may need to get a machine or CD or something to make that noise to  put me to sleep on those bad nights.

8/15: Creek moving too fast for good fishing so I never put a pole in the water.  Wandered around taking pictures.  Felt like our camp was invaded and taken over…hell I was even (gently) shoved off my own table.  Decided NOT to drink as I couldn’t be sure I would behave well enough.  Like the parents but their kids, adult and child both, left lots to be desired.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

