Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 6/28 – 7/4

July 6, 2015

I’m loosing the need/desire to write these posts.  So if you want to continue to see them, you better let me know.

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.  Rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

6/28:  Noisy children woke me up and I’ve been grumpy most of the day.  Mostly because I’m peopled out and they don’t leave until tomorrow.  Made muffins for breakfast, then we packed a lunch and went for a drive up a nearby pass for a picnic and some hiking.  Got a little burned but I can’t use skin block so…it’s either stay out of the sun or do the best I can with coconut oil.  Late dinner ’cause we couldn’t think of a meal idea.  Children sent to bed to read until bedtime.

6/29:  Didn’t want to get up this morning but figured I ought to see our visitors off.  Got my blog written. House back to normal.  Washing bedding.  Work.  Lunch. Work.  Boychild made homemade mac & cheese for dinner.  Hot flashes are killing me slowly…and I’m a bit blue.  Finished the book of short stories that I started last week.  Started another.

6/30:  Insomnia followed by nightmares…if I was to take lessons from this…slow down, pay attention and get a new phone.  Laundry.  Read.  Work.  Home to find Hubby working on the camper, helped him wipe down things a bit.  Out to dinner, where the manager couldn’t decide if he was a manger or a server so there were issues…Hubby was pissed.  Tried to order me a new phone but there were website issues.  Read a little before bed.

7/1:  Slept better but still not great. Up early.  Ordered phone. Hubby has Mohs surgery today for his skin cancer.  MIL and her sister came up to watch the boychild.  They will be riding the train.  Had to wait in the waiting room as they don’t allow extras in the rooms.  😦  Finished a book, stitched a little and chatted with others waiting.  Ended up calling in to work saying that I couldn’t make it because things ran so late.  They did get it in one shot but seemed to take forever to get him back in for the stitches.  Ran a few errands and then came home to start loading the camper.  Made peanut butter cookies off a new recipe the boychild picked out.  They are all right but I’ve had better.  Finishing up laundry.  Tired…yet wide awake.  Sigh.

7/2:  Actually slept…not that it or my child has helped my temper…I’m starting to understand why some animals eat their young.  Finish packing up.  Quick trip to work to pick up a book and drop off a microwave plate.  Finally left about 5:30…only to get a flat right outside of town.  I wanted to call it a day but Hubby insisted we continue on.  Had dinner about 8pm.  Was able to pop the boychild into bed about 10:30 or so.  Full moon reading where I was told that I need to call on Mama Isis more often because we are a team/unit/family/etc.

7/3:  Slept better than I have for weeks.  Setup our camp site.  Visited with people.  I don’t remember what else other than became a feast for the biting bugs.  Was teasingly told that I was a drama queen which hurt me deeply and horrified me.  I’m trying to let it go but I find myself second guessing everything I do/have done…which does not help me sleep.  Boychild with attitude more often than not plus a complete inability to stay away from the water when wearing non-water shoes.

7/4:  Slept badly.  Teary eyed all day.  Trail work…can’t do much thanks to my shoulders other than supervise/direct/request.   Had a great crew and we got done more than we had expected in a relatively short period of time.  Completely forgot about the gentleman weed whacking once it started to rain.  I was so embarrassed and apologetic.  Pot luck dinner.  So many bug bites.  Nothing I do seems to stop them. 😦

3 Comments leave one →
  1. tempewytch permalink
    July 6, 2015 10:04 AM

    I don’t always comment but I normally read – just to keep in touch with how you are doing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. July 8, 2015 9:15 PM

    I love your posts, it let’s me keep in touch and know how life on the mountain fares, when we don’t always have a minute to reach out. However, if your need for them has pasr, I will simply make the effort to reach out more ♡
    I’m sorry for hurting your feelings. It was only meant as a light hearted poke, as our apples rarely fall from our trees.
    It was a productive weekend,all in all. As for the bug bites, I have a delayed reaction and itching started yesterday :-/
    Love!

    Like

    • July 8, 2015 9:54 PM

      I’m sorry bug bites appeared that truly sucks. I wasn’t and am not upset at anyone over the comment but it knocked me for a loop because I don’t see myself that way…storyteller, yes but drama queen…I hope I’m not that self-centered…

      Smooches!

      Like

Leave a Reply

