Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 6/7 – 6/13

June 14, 2015

Dear Blog Reader,

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  My journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.

Warning:  rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.  Boychild takes care of the water offering on the ancestor altar daily, making offerings else where as it moves him. 

6/7:  Let me get this out now…boychild is driving us crazy…mouthy, bored but doesn’t want to do anything other than read or play on the computer…and when I force him to be outside he bounces around like a human pogo stick.  ARRRGH!  Moving on… Weeded the flower bed, removing or moving any plants that are not appropriately placed.  FYI wild geraniums spray way too many seed.  Walked to a fundraiser and had homemade tamales.  Back at the house I planted the plants we bought yesterday and the ones my parents gave us out front.  Meanwhile Hubby cleaned up and rearranged the mess the neighbor and his dogs caused between our two houses then planted the new ferns.  Then Hubby started work on the camper…you know the one he never winterized after hunting.  Looks like he got off easy.  The “old” water heater is the same as the one he broke, the rest of the issues appear to be just fittings that need replaced.

6/8:  Woke up from a dead sleep by a child yelling “mom, I just puked”.  It took quite a while for me to get my bearings today.  After testing gatorade and crackers which came back up, I asked FB friends for suggestions.  Ginger was the favored answer but I don’t have any ginger tea.  It reminded me, that I usually give him peppermint tea when this happens.  Seems to have done the trick.  Watched Saving Mr. Banks and stitched a little…it was ok, boychild said it was boring.  Work.  Lunch. Work.  Home to find Hubby made the two of us curry.  Tired and a bit cranky from work.

6/9:  Boychild appears to be better.  Some of the usual issues with him but he did help pick up the house before having guests.  Laundry started.  Mailing off another piece of devotional art.  I enjoy doing these as they great to do when I want to do something crafty but can’t settle on any one thing or when I am time limited.  Finished stitching baby shower gift, now to finish it.  A bit of babysitting swap before work.  I got the better end of the deal.  One hour vs 4 or so…she even took him swimming!  Hubby late.  Made pizza themed grilled cheese sandwiches with pizza sauce for dipping.  Jax, my black and white medium hair cat is missing.  He’s on a diet and never misses a meal.  I’m very worried.  Started hearing thumpings, startling enough that our dog growled.  At first I thought someone was throwing something at our front door, but didn’t find anything outside.  Then it happened again and Hubby opened up the coat closet. Out strolls Jax, all calm…meanwhile I’m a recovering basket case.  The cat never called out or answered me when I called.  The shit.

6/10:  I’m too wimpy to be menopausal…  Prepping the baby chart to be sewed.  Working out at least one Father’s day gift with the boychild. He’s driving  me nucking futs… meanwhile he came up with something for his father.  Something of his own design, I’m just along to keep it practical.  It is a great idea if we can pull it off.  Picked up the yearbook.  Other than the cover picture which had issues, it looks pretty good.  Returned to an old project.  Maybe I’ll get it finished soon too.  Work…where I had the urge to bring home a couple of books I wouldn’t normally read from the religion section which I just happened to be shelf reading…it was there that I felt a strong surge of love…from without or within I do not know.  Started “The Goddess in the Gospels”…Isis is mentioned alot in conjunction with Mary Magdalene.

6/11:  More reading to even out my frustrations with my son.  He did get his father’s gift finished.  After lunch, I took him to Jr Rangers, then the library for more books and the grocery store.  Started developing a sore throat, allergy or sinus related I think, but decided not to go to craft night.  Finished book.  Mom called they are leaving Monday for Texas…a 12-16? hour trip. They want the boychild to go, boychild wants to go, Hubby doesn’t care…I’m the only one that seems to think this is a bad idea…especially with all the attitude he’s been giving us of late.  He pulls that on my dad and it may get ugly quickly.

6/12:  Spent the late morning helping the boychild with more Father’s Day gifts for the grandfathers.  After lunch, we moved to checking his drawers for summer clothing.  I have a large pile of pants that need to be turned into shorts, including zigzagging the bottoms to minimize fraying.  Got the baby gift sewed…went smoother than I expected.  Watched movie with the boychild.  You wouldn’t believe the number of books the boychild put into his backpack…2 toys and over 12 books. Academic mushroom hunt. Trimmed his jeans into cut offs and prepped chicken for dinner tomorrow night.  Downloaded books onto his Nook.  Seriously the child will have enough to read, though not if you listen to him.  “But Mom, I’m a bookworm!”  I restated to Hubby what a bad idea I thought this trip was…he told me that I warned my parents and the boychild, they ignored the warning…it is in their hands now…let it go.

6/13:  Handed over the baby gift to the grandfather-to-be.  Hubby made sweet potato pancakes for breakfast.  Saw an innocent comment that broke my childish heart.  Received a PDF of a very interesting book to review.  Zigzagged the shorts that were worth it, the rest will be for camping.  Made him a case for his Nook.  Library to get him a playaway.  Packed his suitcase with a little help.  Made a card for my sister. Started dinner about an hour late, oops.  Sister called to rant.  I expect many more of these calls.  Boychild and Hubby repotted the bean plant he brought home from school.  Lenormand reading soothed some of my fears.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

