Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 5/17 – 5/23

May 23, 2015

Dear Blog Reader,

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  My journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.

Warning:  rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice. Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

5/17:  Slept in. Errands which included buying a few plants.  We shouldn’t have, but if we wait to buy plants when we can actually plant, very few choices (at usually higher prices) will be available.  Got some ferns, a creeping myrtle and some tomatoes.  Also saw some whooping cranes just circling above an interstection…Hubby says they do that in a thermal as a form of rest.  When we stopped by to say bye to heartsister and her hubby, she gave me the bowling ball ladybug I had been admiring the previous day.  I tried to not take it but she was insistent saying her hubby was making her another one.  I fear I may have been too enthusiastic about it so I’m pleased to have it and embarrassed all at the same time.  Need to work on curtailing my enthusiasm a little more.  Then on the way home, Hubby decided we need more stuff for the fish tank.  Not sure this is a good idea but arguing isn’t worth it sometimes…I get tired of being the downer.  Unload. Water offering to my Kindreds. Haiku for the boychild about the cranes. A bit of planting with Hubby.

5/18:  Rough night.  Realized it was a dark moon right before going to bed.  Tried to do some meditation which always seems to wake me up instead of sooth me to sleep.  Fixed last night’s haiku, miscounted the last line.  Inspiration caused another poem to be written.  Wish I had more weekend as I have no desire to go to work and deal with the public.  Work.  Lunch. Work…foggy drive home to find that the yard work had been done including the flower beds cleaned out and a very good deer stew that Hubby and Boychild made.  Bought a stand for the altar on sale over the weekend, Hubby is spray painting it for me.  It will hold the Hestia flame and form a gazebo over my Gaia statue.  Close as I have been able to come for a world tree.  Ultimately I’d like a tree-like structure for the flame at top, a niche in the middle for Gaia, a niche at the bottom for the well and branches to hang wishes, prayers and thank yous on.

5/19:  Hubby got his stitches out this morning and they put him in contact with a dermatologist, the same one that worked on our doctor’s husband.  An acquaintance asked me to teach her two kids to cross-stitch.  Something basic to go with a book they’ve been reading on needlework.  Initials, I think. Laundry. Work an hour early…internet down most of the day so it was even slower than usual.  Made myself a snickerdoodle cookie after dinner then worked on putting together the stuff I need for teaching for Thursday.  A little nervous and not exactly sure of how to go about this…

5/20:  Mailed the finished art postcard…not very artlike but…I don’t know…very strange but I did as I was compelled.  Stitching.  Laundry.  Grocery shopping.  Late lunch where I treated myself to an avocado…and I feel guilty about it not sharing.  Partial bill payment as it is all we’ve got at the moment. Work several hours early…at least my paycheck will only be a couple hours short (due to the holiday Monday).  Feet hurt tonight.  Came home to find that boychild shoes were really muddy along his jeans…I wasn’t happy about it…mostly because I’m the one that runs the vacuum and does the laundry.  It was a minor irritation until Hubby decided to be “cute” and ended up pissing me off.  He’s the one that said that the boychild should change out of his school clothes before playing…and who was it that took him to a muddy job site?  Then to find out that the boychild just shrugged when his father told him that I wasn’t going to be happy, “I’ll deal with that later.” Your right he will…he’ll be cleaning off his own stuff.

5/21:  Rough morning with the boychild…he didn’t like that he had to scrub his shoes without help.  He repeatedly yelled at me “You are going to make me late for school.”  To which I would say, well you are dealing with it “later” just like you said.  Unmotivated and a bit nervous over my teaching session…which went fine and I got $25 to put into our vacation fund. Finished book.  Got the new stand added to the altar and a candle offering lit.  I like the gazebo effect.  Talked with my father…from what he says, I don’t think we are going to have a summer up here…we’ll have a wet spring that will turn into a wet fall, maybe flipping back and forth but no real nice weather for recovering from winter…sigh.  Finished laundry.  Blue, blue, blue…been on the edge of tears all day.  Work.  Craft night.  Child issues stemming from back talking and a desire to push back his already very late bedtime.  I wish I knew how to break him of the back talking.  Even the ever patient one lost it and then refused to let me go calm the child down.  It about killed me listening to him sob his heart out ’cause we wouldn’t listen to what he wanted to say…trying to find the line between dealing with his disrespect and wanting to fix his anger/hurt/bewilderment.  Prayer butterflies made and placed on the altar gazebo.

5/22:  I’ve got the rainy/cloudy weather blues.  Helios I miss your light and warmth!  Working on fairy houses this morning.  They are made out of tea cups and saucers/bowls.  The doors didn’t come out as I planned and I don’t know how durable the door markings are but they are done.  Put out garden decorations.  Walked to pick up boychild with blue skies and sun…started sleeting before we made it halfway home.  Called Hubby for a ride…by the time he arrived it stopped…oopsy.  Helped Hubby do a little bit of work on the lawn after the boychild went to bed.  Need to put one of the cats on a diet…he gained a fair amount of weight over the winter, while our other cat is fine.  Not sure how to manage this.  Hoping that it is a diet issue and not diabetes…can’t afford to treat diabetes.  DWTS…I’m several weeks behind.

5/23:  Slept in sort of.  Hubby made French toast for breakfast, that is a labor of love ’cause he doesn’t really care for it. (And my guts didn’t like it either…but don’t tell…I get French toast so rarely.) Boychild has been asking for it for weeks.  Cleaning here and there.  Laundry put away.  Trying carrot cake oatmeal cookies which my carrot-hating child declared successful.  This weather is killing me slowly.  Snow/sleet off and on all day today.  Hubby is working on cutting the tile for the fireplace. New recipe for dinner (guts still grumpy)… Hubby’s laying tile!  Shoulders are pretty pissed tonight so no stitching…I think it is from running the vacuum as it is a bit top heavy.  They are getting so fucking wimpy.  Finished GWWS which took me way longer than I expected but at times it had a hard time holding my interest.  Lots of information.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

