Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 5/10 – 5/16

May 17, 2015

Dear Blog Reader,

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  My journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.

Warning:  rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice.  Being the poster child for allergies/cold/WTF-I have, leaves me with little energy to do much of anything, more less my religious practice.  Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

5/10:  made the mistake last night of asking my husband a question, the answer of which I already guess correctly and found upsetting…didn’t fall asleep until after the sun came up I think…so very tired.  I gave my husband practically the same talk as I gave him early on in our marriage when he started dropping the ball about important days.  Never imaged I’d have to recover that ground again 20+ years later… Boychild gave me a small canvas that he drew sugar skulls on.  It’s cute.  MIL seemed to like her new Pampered Chef muffin pan.  Hubby put my truck back together (after hopefully fixing the leak that happens every time it rains hard) then kindly vacuumed out my truck.  Yay for a cleaner truck.  Went to my parents’ after dropping off items at ARC.  Mom liked her Pampered Chef meat forks.  Went out to lunch with my parents and the boychild behaved dreadfully.  Headed for home about 4.  Slept part of the way home.  Tired.  Blue. Checkbook.  Hunt for graduation card ideas.

5/11:  Duh…Allegra D before bed = bad idea.  Another night of only a couple hours of sleep.  Will have to move taking it to the morning hours I think.  Will try that and if it I don’t sleep again…  Sinuses do seem to be getting better along with the cough.  Graduation card.  Just need to get the money to fill it and send off.  Talked to Hubby a bit about some things on my mind.  He didn’t say much… Work.  Lunch. Work. Home and tired.  Read a couple of chapters of a book recommended to me by a patron.

5/12:  Slept a little better/more.  Took the allegra-d this morning.  Hubby had his physical and skin biopsy this morning.  Laundry.  Need to get a mouthwash with tea tree oil in it to see if it helps with some of our dental issues.  Graduation card mailed. Work.  Home to help Hubby with dinner and packaging up meat.

5/13: didn’t fall asleep until sometime after 4am…going to have to stop the Allegra-D but…will my stuffiness come back?  Four days of little sleep has left me…lethargic and short tempered…not to mention the short attention span.  Nasal rinse due to slight congestion.  Nothing like answering the door to find Laurel and Hardy in police uniform on one’s doorstep…didn’t know whether to laugh or worry…not to mention the adrenaline dump which I will pay for later.  Reading.  Laundry.  I’m sure there is something practical I should be doing…can’t think of what though… Work.  Tired.  Helping Hubby a bit with planting some house plants, until he got distracted by being a good neighbor…

5/14:  slept better but a comment from Hubby about the noises I make in my sleep left me self-conscious which chased me through my dreams.  Stopped taking Allegra-D Tuesday…woke more than slightly congested today. Nasal rinse.  I’m so tired of feeling like shit.  I’ve officially hit “I’m a tall 2 yr old” status today.  Went and crawled to bed with Hubby for a nap.  I always regret doing it though as what my body wants is 8 hours of sleep not just an hour…it takes me twice as long to become coherent again and is more of reminder of how much more I need than a fix for what I’m missing.  The cuddle factor is nice though.  Bills.  Laundry. Hubby officially has skin cancer…while it is relatively minor I somehow doubt the cost will be…so I’m really fucking frazzled.  Work where no children were killed, maimed or really even yelled at…miracle I know.  Helped boychild with homework, including extra work.  Skipping craft night as I will not be pleasant company.  Boychild apologized for me missing craft night as he thought it was because he had extra homework due to problems during the day.  He then thanked me for being me.  When I asked for clarification, he said that some of his friends’ moms were too nice but that I was a good mixture of nice and tough, about 50/50.  Hubby asked him what it was that he wanted…

5/15:  slept so much better last night but getting up was a real chore as I was sleeping so hard.  Got a call from the doc’s office…my best option is to just manage with what I’ve got…nasal rinse twice a day, go back to musinex and continue with everything else. I may cut out allegra as it does seem to not be helping any but the only way to find out is to try it…need to reduce cost somewhere.  Putting away laundry.  Tired and unmotivated.  Libation for Hermes.  Pack.  Read. Down the hill.

5/16:  Dfest meeting and stitching.  Errands.  Spent a little time with my heartsister.  Can’t get hubbyto go do anything this evening.  Not that I can find anything for us to do that doesn’t involve a bar or a movie theater.  Money isn’t there anyway…sigh.  Hubby is content.  He has his beer and his computer, I’m the one that is bored…and disappointed.  Stitched.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

