Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 5/3 – 5/9

May 10, 2015

Dear Blog Reader,

What you see on my blog is a meager slice of my life.  Do not presume that you know who I am by what you find here.  As much as gets written down, much more happens that does not.  My journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  This is my space, read or not as you please; just don’t lecture me on what I should or should not post.  I find writing cathartic and so do a lot of ranting  and whining, especially in these Daily Happenings posts.

Warning:  rants by definition are not based on logic.  Writing down my rants helps me to clean out the ol’ brain pan so that I can find a solution to whatever is bothering me at the moment. Yes I have friends I could lay this stuff on instead, but maybe I don’t want to clutter up their brain pan or bother them when they have their own issues.

Spiritually, I’m still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional (DD) practice.  Being the poster child for allergies/cold/WTF-I have, leaves me with little energy to do much of anything, more less my religious practice.  Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Occasionally been doing short meditations and I always end the day with thanks in front of my shrines.  Prayers, as always, before bed unless I’m ill.

5/3:  Hubby got up in a crappy mood so no French toast for breakfast like we were hoping.  Made collage-style mother’s day cards…reverted to my childhood I guess.  Made turkey salad for sandwiches next week.  Grocery store.  Froze the chicken broth from yesterday.  Finishing up the beans and whipped up some apple-pecan-oatmeal cookie dough for Hubby to bake (while he gets the Indian fry bread ready for dinner) as boychild needs something extra in his lunches now.  Bonus…I got to use up that soft apple. Wrapped Mother’s Day gifts. Stitching.  Packaged up the beans.  Cookies for the full moon offering to my lady.  Tired and yet not…

5/4:  Crappy night…maybe 2 hours of sleep?  Headshots finally uploaded but no list of who they are or what grade…and several of them have the top of their head cut off.  Sigh.  Friend came over and helped with names.  Unexpected check in the mail from the Dr.’s office no less.  Looks like our 2ndary insurance is going to cover the ER trip back in 2013.  Work.  Lunch.  Work.  Yearbook…headshot (such as they are) pages done.  Waiting on activity pics to be uploaded.  Stitching.

5/5:  Slept a tad bit better but Hubby didn’t.  Refuses to take any meds for his cough…stubborn ass.  When I was going through this stage I was still going to work, getting up to get the boychild ready for school, doing laundry, etc.  He’s laying around on the couch whining that he’s too tired to work. Couple more pages done on the yearbook.  Stitching.  Work. Tired.  Rest of the photos uploaded but some aren’t useable, others are the same kids on repeat…4 pages done on the yearbook, only to lose them to a Shutterfly glitch.  Fuckers.  Redoing them, plus two more.  Sigh, no stitching done tonight though.

5/6:  Another rough night of sleep…partially my own issues, partially Hubby’s…  Finished yearbook, waiting for others to look it over.  Laundry.  Cousin Nurse says I may have a sinus infection…which means a trip to the Doc to get antibiotics.  Stitching.  Had to fix my foot in mouth issue with one person and then discussed with boychild’s teacher the fact that we’re Pagan. In learning about the Greece, the gods were described as fictional…which rather upset my son. (I had told him that some people believed that but we know better.)  She was surprised in that she didn’t know there were people that “did” that but also supportive and stated she’d make sure it didn’t happen again.  In her defense, she was reading from a text book…  Work.  Home. Stitching.  Sold the teapot on ebay…not for as much as I had hoped but I’ll take it.

5/7:  Slept a bit better…I was just that tired.  Teapot packaged up.  Doc office visit and stitching.  Extreme allergies…increase flonase, add ibuprofen, switch to allegra-D and add Rx inhaler for a week.  Stitching.  Work.  Picked up $55 Rx…ouch.  Craft night.  Yearbook.  Giving up on getting the piece finished before the baby shower…rather bummed about it.  Gathered the rest of the items for the gift.

5/8:  Lacking motivation this morning.  Yearbook has been turned over to the school.  One more thing off my to-do list.  Trying to pack but…squirrel!  Nail broke about 1/8″ below the quick on the edge of my thumbnail. Tried to paint a heart to help hold it until the nail grows out more…morphed into a sloppy ladybug.  Trip to Denver with the family.  Needed some emotional reassurance from Hubby and got “it doesn’t do any good so why bother”.  Told him he could be a jerk sometimes.

5/9:  Got up, had breakfast and went over to heartsister’s to help set up for the baby shower.  After the shower, ran errands. Trying to figure out how many sprays are left on the flonase as it is too expensive to waste and I had some problems with it tonight…may have got TOO much up there…or it might be the allegra-D kicking in…  Hubby trying to fix the leak in my truck that soaks 2/3s of the back seat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ladyimbrium permalink
    May 11, 2015 5:40 AM

    At least the teacher was supportive once she realized her error.

    Like

    • May 11, 2015 6:26 AM

      Oh yes…especially since I started out saying…”I’m too tired to find a diplomatic way to say this so I’m just gonna dump…”

      Like

Leave a Reply

