Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 2/22 – 2/28

March 1, 2015

Just a reminder…my journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  Read or ignore as you please.  Still trying to find a steady rhythm on my daily devotional practice.  Right now I do a little something as it strikes me, no formal ritual.  Also been doing short meditations in the evenings.  Prayers, as always, before bed.  Warning:  may contain rants…rants by definition are not based on logic and are solely for the purpose of clearing headspace so that I can address things in a more positive fashion. 

2/22:  Slept badly last night.  Worried about all the bunny hunters all night and when I slept the dreams were unsettling…well except for the craft shop dream. Hubby texted to say they were heading out.  Weather too crappy I think.  Breakfast and then trauma…went through the broken toys.  Damn, he acted like I was torturing him…as a pack rat and one that is way too money-conscious, he has no clue that it bothers me as much if not more than him…  On the plus side, we threw away less than I expected.  Many were repairable or still useable despite missing parts.  Worked on decorations and napkins for the party.  I had a sugar crash…got busy and missed lunch.  Feel jittery and cranky, ate but recovery seems unusually slow. Hubby home.  Dinner and watched the Oscars for the first time in years.  I don’t know why…really it was a waste of time and not nearly as entertaining as I expect it to be.  Took a long time for the body to start feeling better…like not until after dinner.  That hasn’t happened to me in quite a while and I don’t ever remember it taking so long.  Hubby has a sore on his face that isn’t healing.  A quick google says probably skin cancer.  Sigh.  Will we never get ahead?  Not to mention the whole cancer panic dance that the brain gerbil is doing.  Yes I know that skin cancer is relatively minor but…  It is also the fact that I feel like I didn’t take care of him (or as he would say nag) him enough about taking care of his skin.  Which is silly, ’cause he’s an adult.  But there you have it.

2/23:  Didn’t sleep well again.  Boychild off to school.  Design work.  Recovered another dining room chair, three to go.  Work.  Lunch.  Work.  Home and unable to get into my parking spot due to ice and the fact that my 4-wheel drive has gone out.  Hubby finally got it in but came within an inch of hitting a neighbor’s car.  Literally an inch.  He spent the rest of the evening angry.  I know he wasn’t exactly angry at me but it felt like it.  He’s angry at circumstances and our seeming inability to get ahead…part of it is the lack of maintenance on things.  He’s let a lot slide over the past couple of years for whatever reason and if I say something I’m accused of nagging.  Don’t let anyone tell you that only women have hormonal changes…they just call ours menopause…and their’s, a midlife crisis.  Well his is biting him on the ass from health issues to problems caused while dealing with health issues.  It’s rough on both sides of the fence.  New tarot deck in the mail.  Universal Goddess…I like it so far but will have to see how it reads.  Contemplating getting a god themed deck to go with it.

2/24:  Boychild’s 8th birthday.  Today he crowed “no more car seat!”.  I had to correct him but yes for the most part he will probably be out of the car seat.  Last night, I left him a note in his message notebook which I placed on top of some used paperbacks for him.  He came running up and gave me a great big hug and a thank you.  When I later mentioned something about the books he gave me a blank look…the hug was just for the note as he didn’t even notice the books.  ❤  Read through the LWB for the new deck and set up dr. appointments for the guys.  Going into work an hour early.  Got my exercise today…couldn’t get the truck out of its spot due to ice so I had to walk to work.  I was 5 minutes late…and everything I touched was in danger today…rough day.  Walked home because I didn’t know Hubby was waiting in the parking lot for me.  Computer was having issues when I got home.  Making Chicken Alfredo for the boychild’s birthday dinner.  Hubby has hauled the “old” unused fireplace out of the living room and replaced it with the wood fireplace that my parents gave us.  We got the details planned out, now to just get ’em done.

2/25:  Caught the boychild in one lie this morning and saw him change his mind on another.  Progress?  Though the morning rather went downhill from there.  Did a no-no…bought that deck I was eyeing…got it used for a pretty good price.  Hubby is working on my truck today.  I must say that I do appreciate having a hubby who can be a mechanic and a carpenter and a tile-setter and a…it is just frustrating to have him work on everyone’s else’s stuff when we have plenty of our own.  Laundry. Tarot work. Work.  Parts shop gave him the wrong parts so didn’t get it finished today and tomorrow will be doubtful due to weather…I hope the shop surprises me.  Boychild misbehavior…though we may have finally got through to him on a few items.  Dryer is broke again damn it. I have socks and undies hung up all over the laundry room. Gave some opinions to a reporter for the Wild Hunt.  Ordered parts for my dryer.  Hope they get here quickly.

2/26:  Debit card drama this morning.  Boychild late to school ’cause Hubby’s van had battery issues.  Was reminded of a dream this morning, a dream about a harpy who was a protector and a beloved friend.  She looked like a handsome woman with wings but had bird feet and legs…come to think of it, I never saw her feet I just knew this is the way she was.  Happy and strong.  She had my admiration, love and appreciation.  Even odder was the fact that I have a name for her and that I remember the image of her so clearly…just one image of her flying.  I remember nothing else from that dream, just the image and my knowledge/impression of her.  Another chair covered. Wrong truck parts AGAIN. Bathroom cleaned…shoulders are tired…damn they’ve gotten wimpy.  Having design differences with Hubby…he’s building a platform for the woodstove 18″ high…I think that is too tall and will look odd.  Boychild home with fits and lies.  Fixed his backpack while he did homework (and whined/argued/jabbered).  The wood stove platform is built, higher than I would like but we are going to use part of the space under it for wood storage.  The stove is on the platform for now so that it is out of the way for the party.  Only half of the kids’ parents RSVP’d.

2/27: Another crappy morning with my child.  Hubby’s ill and we are supposed to be having a birthday party tomorrow.  The director called and wants me to take on another role that I’m not sure I want.  My truck still isn’t fix. And Spock has gone on to the Final Frontier.  Melt down.  Scrapped myself together.  More party prep.  Called the doc’s about Hubby.  Stopped by to see the Director, I did point out some possible issues and she pretty much said that those very issues were why they asked me.  I’m reliable and will help rein the kids in.  I guess last week they ran amok.  Picked up the boychild.  Grocery store. Party prep.  Made a lousy dinner.  More party prep.  Giving up and going to bed.

2/28:  didn’t sleep well last night.  Final bit of party prep this morning…decorating, making the ice cream toppings.  In-laws arrived.  Birthday party…went well, kids seemed to have fun and were well behaved.  A bit worried about the last child as the parents didn’t come get him at 4 and he asked to stay until 5.  About 4:30, I had him start doing phone calls.  No one showed up until 5 to pick him up.  In-laws thankfully bought us dinner.  Board meeting for NA.  Hubby said he thinks it isn’t the hubs after all…something on the fork?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

