Skip to content

Daily Happenings: 12/28 – 1/3

January 3, 2015

Just a reminder…my journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  Read or ignore as you please.  Been trying to greet my main shrines twice a day when home but usually only get it done in the evenings…stress has taken a toll and if I can’t approach the shrines with a grateful heart, I don’t want to approach at all… and say prayers before bed.  Warning:  may contain rants…rants by definition are not based on logic and are solely for the purpose of clearing headspace so that I can address things in a more positive fashion.

12/28:  Got up earlier than I wanted to so that I could try to get packed up and out the door to my parents’ in a reasonable amount of time.  Little did I know that it would take Hubby an hour to pack the truck.  I could have done it in a lot less time than that…but then he doesn’t have my mother complaining to him that she doesn’t see enough of us.  She resents that they sees so little of us while his parents gets the lion share of our time. Of course she swears it is because Hubby doesn’t like them or is angry at them or something.  Mostly it is circumstances, the circumstance being our dog (Mr. Anxiety Issues) and the fact that my dad isn’t an animal person.  Can’t leave the dog at home, can’t stay at my parents’ with the dog…there is also the fact that the highway does operate in two directions, something a lot of our family can’t seem to figure out.  So another situation in which I cannot win.  Left for home while listening to the Bronco game.  Stopped for a meal, we shouldn’t have but a body needs to eat.  Home.  Unpacked.  Tired.  Work tomorrow.  Phooey.

12/29:  Didn’t sleep well last night.  Got up and wrote out cursive letters in a notebook for the boychild while he worked on his big lego set.  Did a workout.  Really!  Not ’cause I wanted to but because my hips have been killing me which means I haven’t been exercising them enough.  Work.  Lunch.  Work. Home.  Prepped tomorrow nights dinner after eating tonight’s.  Checkbook.  Cleaning off my desk.  Trying to bring my thankfulness blog up to date.  Making plans for how to promote thankfulness and positivity in the new year…I think we are going to try a remembrance jar (where you put in slips of paper noting the good things throughout the year then read them on New Year’s Eve).  Thinking about goals for the new year (50 books read over the course of the year and an hour/week minimum on my son’s birth chart).

12/30:  Didn’t fall asleep until after 4am, which means nothing will get done before work as I didn’t wake up until 9 and get up until 10.  Boychild wants to do a ritual to welcome in the new year.  This surprised me.  I think I’ll base it on the noumenia ritual.  Laundry started.  Work.  Home to help finish up dinner.  Rotisserie chicken in the new rotisserie, rice medley and roasted brussel sprouts.  Yum.  Finished reading to boychild the first book in the Rise of the Guardians series on Nicholas St. North.  Internet down, very frustrating.  Hope I sleep tonight.

12/31:  awake every 2 hours due to hot flashes, lazy morning, internet running very slow. Ahhh it all comes clear…mom and I had a miscommunication and she was a bit indignant that I wanted to use the statue in a non-Christian manner.  Sigh, I wanted a mother and child statue for my altar which is exactly what I told her.  She assumed Madonna and Child because that is what I was looking at as those are easily found and generally very nice.  I’m amused and saddened all at the same time. Laundry. Tried to get the boychild to nap so he could stay up tonight.  We will see how it goes.  Boychild and I planned out our ritual for tomorrow. Swept the house with the new to me vacuum from my MIL.  Works a bit better than my old one. Work then the grocery store (which had me irritated because why couldn’t have they gone to the store while I was at work…only to get crappy service and selection which increased said irritation.)  Came home to a tired, loud and rambunctious child…and a cold dinner.  So while Hubby warmed it back up, I took care of laundry.  After dinner we tried to find a movie that Hubby would willingly watch.  No luck.  So we chose one of boychild’s new games.  I sit down to look through the directions only to be informed that we need to make dessert…and of course they hadn’t even decided on what dessert, I had to do that.  By this time, I’m biting my tongue to keep from screaming.  We ended up making a small batch of chocolate chip cookie in the tiny cast iron cookie skillets and started playing The Game of Life.  Yeaaahhh…not as fun as Hubby or I remembered.  The new version is quite a bit different from the old.  Finished the game just after midnight.  Sent the very tired child to bed, then got beans soaking for tomorrow’s dinner.  May this year be better and more financially stable than the last.

1/1:  slept but not as late as I would have liked.  Hubby made sweet potato pancakes for breakfast.  Our traditional New Year’s Bean soup is simmering away on the stove.  Boychild and I put the finishing touches on our ritual plan and then we did the ritual.  Forgot to ask for omens until after we were finished but did them any way.  Very interesting messages.  Will blog the details separately.  Spent time writing up our ritual instead of piecing it together on the fly.  This version is longer than my daily devotional but shorter that my full blown ADF ritual format.  More child friendly.  Dinner with the addition of grill cheese sandwiches to dip in the soup.  Read another chapter of Harry Potter before sending our child off to bed.  New page to mark my goals for the year:  50 books read, half from my to-be-read shelves, 1/4 in non-fiction; work on my son’s birth chart an hour a week.  Been spending a lot of my brainless down time searching for the perfect artwork to go next to Isis’ shrine…no luck.

1/2:  slept fairly well but still didn’t want to get up.  Laundry.  Chocolate muesli prepared for today’s breakfast and future breakfasts.  Did some cleaning out and rearranging of the storage areas.  FYI, my inner pack rat HATES to get rid of boxes and bubble wrap…I might NEED them some day. (Yes, I’m parting with some…)  Slowly getting stuff out of the some-day-bathroom…yeah the hope hasn’t died quiet yet…it’s on life support.  Rough afternoon with the boychild.  Very rough…cleaned out his room and a good chunk of his play room.  Finished running the vac.  Craft night (one day late) where I started a new ornament.  Read.  The tile job in the bathroom had a much quicker turnaround than is ideal.  Consequently a couple of tiles have come loose, so tonight Hubby is chipping out grout to reset a tile and then regrouting.  Not very tired despite the late night…looks like it is gonna be one of those nights.  Might as well go to bed and meditate.  Meditation has never helped me fall asleep…there is always a first time.

1/3:  What do you know, I actually slept.  Not straight through the night but I slept and that is what counts.  Up at 8 due to a phone call.  A friend and his son came up to look at a vehicle which Hubby had inspected for him.  After they bought it, he took us to lunch before heading back down.  Guardians of the Galaxy with the boychild.  Kinda hokey but not bad.  Finished Life of Pi…don’t know what the movie was like but this advanced copy ended in such a way that left wimpy-me wishing I hadn’t read it and hoping I doesn’t feed my nightmares.  Fed the boy a slightly spicier than usual Thai soup…he liked it, went back for seconds and included veggies he typically doesn’t like.  Wow!  Kinda at loose ends tonight.  There are things I could do and probably a few things I should do but nothing that I really WANT to do… So I went and watched the 2 hour beginning of The Librarians.  What? Did you think I’d miss that?  A bit hokey but maybe it will iron out.  I’ve heard good things about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

