Skip to content

Daily Practices: 4/20 – 4/26

April 26, 2014

Just a reminder…my journal blogs are mostly for me and the few people that truly want to know what I do on a daily basis.  Read or ignore as you please.  Unless otherwise stated, I greet my main altars twice a day and say prayers before bed.  Warning:  may contain rants…rants by definition are not based on logic and are solely for the purpose of clearing headspace so that I can address things in a more positive fashion.

 

4/20:  Boychild woke us at 8 fairly vibrating with excitement…Santa Bunny (since he believes Santa is actually the Easter Bunny in disguise) had come and he was dying (dyeing?  grin) to look for eggs.  It was rather funny.  I think he found them all though.  One the cats even left him a bird.  Wish they’d keep from slipping their belled collars but every time I put one on they “lose” them in less than a day…or a week at most.  Banana bread for breakfast.  The guys are whittling down the snow piles in my yard.  I’ve got garlic ginger pork chops marinating (narrowly missed getting sriracha sauce in my eyes), pork chops wrapped for the freezer and bird feathers vacuumed.  Planted a bunch of seeds and made Chinese cucumber salad to go with dinner.   Dinner was good.  Read HP#3 to the boychild before bed.  Designed a felt greenman for the felt egg, I sewed up last week.  While the glue dried, I went and watched a couple things on the DVR.

4/21:  Woke up in the middle of the night and didn’t fall back to sleep until two hours later.  Sheesh…I do miss sleeping.  Irritated.  I let/had Hubby deal with his own claim to the accident insurance and he very may well have dropped the ball so that they will not cover it AT ALL.  I told him at the time he had to get his claim form submitted within 3 months.  I’m not sure he did.  I hope so…he just doesn’t find it important enough to deal with in a timely manner.  It is only wasted money…helped him fax it.  Hopefully they will still honor the claim.  Continuing work on the felt egg.  Started laundry.  Mommy freak out.  Summer is coming on and I hate the fact that work will keep me from being home with my son during his summer beak…despite the fact that I enjoy my job.  Director called and offered me a few more hours.  I’m pleased and stressed.  I suspect by mid-break, I’ll be thankful.  🙂  Picked up the boychild and delivered two more tubs of popcorn.   Work.  Sleeping pill (cohosh+extra stuff).  Watched a little tv.

4/22:  It happened again..despite taking the cohosh sleep pill, I didn’t sleep much. Again.  The fact that the one thing that worked for me initially, has stopped working consistently scares the crap out of me.  I have nothing to go to that will do the trick when I need it most without nasty side effects.  WTF.  So bloody tired.  I’m not exercising consistently ’cause I martial my energy to get me through the day.  4 hour shift today which shouldn’t be the looming boogyman that it feels like today.  Honestly, if I had a choice between periods for the rest of my life and insomnia (which probably shortens my life), give me the periods.  Laundry…having issues with the boychild not changing his underwear daily.  Eww.  Walking to and from work so hopefully the weather stays relatively nice…hoping the exercise will help me sleep.  Didn’t remember to greet the altars until I was almost to work, so I sat on a bench in the sun and did a version of my bedtime prayer.  Got cornered into working Memorial Weekend.  😦  So tired.  Hubby made a wonderful dinner…I was very little help.  Read a little to my son before he went to bed.  Read a little before going to bed…so tired…then suddenly wide freaking awake.  It took forever to actually fall asleep, a lot of dozing and trying to choke my brain gerbil.

4/23:  Woke up early this morning thanks to my son who was up earlier than usual.  It is spirit week and today’s theme was cowboy so he was up early to plan his clothes.  He’s 7.  So he dressed himself…my only issue is that he is wearing dress clothes to do so but I let it go with a lecture about taking care of his clothes.  He’s a pretty dressy cowboy.  I contributed my husband’s old hat with a paper sheriff star.  Tired.  Not as bad as yesterday but not feeling as rested as I wished.  Laundry.  Volunteer stint at the school.  World Book Night handouts which was kind of fun…giving away books and not costing me a dime.  Work where I picked up a museum catalog of Egyptian treasures to ooh and ahh over.  Pleased to be able to add this to my library.

4/24:  Got woke from a very deep sleep to my book reading son yelling down the hall “Mom can I finish this book before getting ready for school?”  Thank you child for scaring the crap out of me.  Slept better but still extremely unmotivated.  Spent the morning entertaining myself on the computer.  Found a new band that I like, Halestorm…hard (ish?) rock, surprisingly.  Lead singer is amazing though.  Looked for modern Isis pictures.  Tried to look for modern Zeus pictures…there isn’t many and most I dislike.  Tired and restless all at the same time.  I can’t find anything I want to do and whole lot that I don’t want to do.  One of the things I’ve started doing is at the end of my prayers at night is doing an energy “dump” into Mama Gaia’s energy field.  My thoughts are twofold, give her the extra energy running rampant in my system in hopes of A) being able to sleep better and B) all though minutia on a large scale that little bit of extra may help her do something small that will have large positive effects later.  This also gives me something to focus on when I wake up in the middle of the night and my thoughts start racing.  Too soon to tell if it is any help as I only started it Tuesday night. Picked up my son and took him to the library’s afterschool club.  After that we had dinner and went to his “Spring Sing”.  Love my child but sitting through 37 children singing (for the most part without music) is borderline torture.  Read his some more Harry Potter #3 (we are almost finished).  Great news from a friend…hoping to find someone to take over my Memorial Weekend shift so that I can help her move!  In general this was a wasted day for me.  Need to be more productive tomorrow.

4/25:  slept the best yet this week but still didn’t want to get up this morning.  Boychild has a half day today so it doesn’t leave me much time to do much…that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.  Picked him up and drove 30 minutes to have lunch and do some shopping.  Came home, got ready and went to a pizza birthday party for one of the boychild’s friends.  After a gathering like this, I find myself second guessing myself.  I should have done this, I shouldn’t have said that…I try not to give into it but some days it is hard.

4/26:  our attempt to sleep in was foiled by a phone call.  Tried a new mug recipe:  blueberry muffin.  Pretty good.  All of us are restless but don’t really have anything we want to do…especially anything the child suggests so tempers are fraying.  Storm is moving in which doesn’t help matters.  Cut up a ham.  Got lunch meat, diced ham and a ham bone out of it.  Cut up some 7-bone steaks into smaller dinner portions.  Tired and restless.  At one point, Hubby and I started playing keep away from the boychild with a beach ball.  By the time we were done, I was out of breath, we’d all been giggling and were in much better moods.  Finished reading Harry Potter #3 to my son.  Never did greet the altars at any point today but will say goodnight before bed.  While I keep the gods in my heart/head, I don’t always get the outward actions done.  Shame.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

