Skip to content

Receiving of Blessings

February 26, 2014

What does your tradition do to increase the power and flow of blessings?

I don’t have a tradition.  I’m pretty much flying by the seat of my pants.  I read what others do, I study what the ancients did and then I try different things until they feel right.  The eclectic “wing-it” tradition at its finest.  Can be very lonely and it can take a long time to work out problems but that’s where I’m at.

So how do I increase the flow and strength of blessings?  Well what are blessings?

blessing, (also used to refer to bestowing of such) is the infusion of something with holiness, spiritual redemption, divine will, or one’s hope or approval. (from Wikipedia)

The only way to increase blessings is to strengthen relations with the divine.  This is done through prayer, offerings and the giving of time and attention.  This is done by living rightly which doesn’t always match with cultural norms.  This is done by never hiding one’s light or denying one’s truth.  This is not the same as flaunting your beliefs but it does mean living your beliefs and standing firm when society, family or friends back you into the proverbial corner.

So how do I do this?  I greet the shrines of Isis and Zeus every morning (with offerings of water) and farewells in the evening. The ancestor shrine receives water and greetings every morning. We do prayers before meals and prayers before bed.  I write stories, poems and prayers that all in one way or another have some relation to the Gods, Naturekin or Ancestors.  I try to live my beliefs every day, convenient or not.   I pick up trash wherever I go.  I teach my son (mostly through example but also through chatting and occasionally lectures) to do the same.  I volunteer where I can.  I give where I can.  I celebrate full moons, dark moons and noumenia.  I mark the turn of the wheel of the year in various ways.  I keep a daily grateful blog to remind me of the good in my life.  I journal to see my progress or the lack there of.

Do I feel like I do enough?  No.  I’m always striving to do something more, to be better.  Do I fail?  Yeah, more often than I like, but I think my efforts are appreciated and encouragement given when I fall.  I do not fear my gods.  I fear failing them and sometimes fear their lessons but I do not fear them.  I fear sharing my thoughts, my works as the Pagan community is not as generous and tolerant as we like to think it is.  I fear the rejection from those that matter to me but I never fear my gods.  The blessing I give them is my trust and my love…and ultimately I think that is all they really need for it is the act of giving with an open heart that is important, not the gift.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2014 6:40 PM

    Have any objections about me posting this on my twitter?

    Like

    • February 28, 2014 11:17 PM

      sorry you got caught in the spam file…no go right ahead. Thank you for asking. 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. question | The House of Vines

Leave a Reply

