Skip to content

Conversations in a library: the phone call

February 26, 2014
tags: ,

“County Public Library*.  How can I help you?”

“Yes I’m looking for a book for my wife.  Can I peruse your catalog online?”

“Yes you may.  Go to public.library.com*, enter in  your library card and click on card catalog.”

“Well maybe you can help me.  See my one year wedding anniversary is coming up and I’m putting together  a weekend of romance.  My wife likes to read Harlequin Blaze books in the tub.  Do you have any of those? Or anything similar”

“I’m not sure sir, as we do not catalog by publisher.”

“Can you recommend any romance books?”

“I can recommend some of the more popular authors but I can’t give any personal recommendations as I don’t typically read that genre.  For reading in a tub, I’d recommend a paperback because they are light and easier to hold while sitting in the tub.

“She really likes the Harlequin Blaze books.  They really get her hot, but she wants something she can turn pages with one hand, so the other one doesn’t have to stop what it is doing.”

“………..”

*not the actual name/address

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2014 11:19 PM

    ROFLMAO – I literally just spit on my computer screen!

    Like

  2. tempewytch permalink
    February 27, 2014 2:54 AM

    erm … okay!!! Not your usual phone conversation there!

    Like

  3. February 27, 2014 6:05 AM

    sounds like a phone creep.
    if my husband shared info like that about me with a stranger, he wouldn’t walk for a week.
    completely off topic, i had charles de lint signed copy out from the library, and was reading it in the tub. you already know what happened, don’t you? i was mortified. now all of my tubbie reading material belongs to me.
    :X
    khairete
    suz
    ps- omg! i just dropped it in the water! what WERE you people thinking????

    Like

    • February 27, 2014 7:43 AM

      I figured it was a prank but the guy was never rude or used profanity, just over-shared. I wasn’t offended just surprised. Finally when he kept asking questions about books on Amazon and kept talking in circles, I figured I had better things to do and told him that I had patrons waiting for my assistance.

      Like

  4. April 22, 2015 9:02 AM

    Ay Dios mio

    Like

Leave a Reply

