Skip to content

Are you watching the Olympics

February 6, 2014
tags:

So I posted on Facebook that I was going to watch some figure skating.  A friend posted back that she’d love to watch but that she couldn’t support the choice of venue.  I pointed out that the venue was NOT the choice of the athletes.  The Olympic committee and whoever else is in charge over there should be forced to live in the same conditions as those athletes or even the journalists.  (If you haven’t seen the tweets and pics that journalists are posting about the conditions there you should.  They are funny…in a disbelieving sort of way.)

Russia’s stance on gays is horrible.  The stray dog death squads are tragic.  Yet these athletes are put in years of their life to get to this point.  They have given up much and strived hard to make it to these games.  What little I watch, I watch in support of them achieving that dream.  Not for my country.  Not for politics.  Simply to watch these athletes make their dreams come true.

I think this also shines a spotlight on Russia, making the world aware of what is going on in that country.  Every country has its issues.  The Gods know, we hear plenty about the problems in America.  These games put Russia under scrutiny, for good or for bad.  So far…it is looking pretty bad.

Will you be watching the games?  Why or why not?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2014 12:39 PM

    No, because I think they should only ever be held in Greece to be more apolitical. Also, the winter games are almost worthless in terms of variety.

    Like

    • February 6, 2014 12:45 PM

      Hmmm just as the Gods don’t belong to only Greece, neither do the games. I’m not a big sport fan, so honestly I do not watch anything other than football very often. The only other winter sport I like to watch is figure skating. I like more in the summer games like gymnastics and swimming but I can’t remember the last time I watched them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

