Skip to content

Conversations in a Library: S-E-X

February 5, 2014
tags:

Teacher (whose 3rd grade students are attending story time at the library) comes to the front desk:   I just saw one of my students look up S-E-X.  I don’t know what to say to him and I think it would be better coming from one of you any way.

[internal thoughts:  is she serious?  She is serious.  Why is everyone looking at me?  Oh geez…]

Me:  Ok, I’ll do it. 

(finds boy)  Come with me please.  (Takes boy to an empty area.)  I understand you’ve been looking up the word sex on the card catalog.

Boy studies feet in silence.

Me:  This is an inappropriate time to be doing this.  There is a time and place for everything and this isn’t the time for that subject.  You look this up on your own time, not with your class, or talk to your parents about it.  Understand?

Boy nods while still studying his feet.

Me:  You can return to your class.

[internal thoughts:   Geez…how hard was that?  Crikey, I hope I didn’t discourage him. There are worse things to be looking up and there are a lot of worse ways to get the information…]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. henadology permalink
    February 5, 2014 4:19 PM

    When I was little, my mother got called into the principal’s office because I had been explaining the facts of life to another child on the playground. My mother’s only question was whether my information had been correct…

    Like

  2. February 5, 2014 5:02 PM

    how can a kid get info that exciting and not be curious (and want to share it with his/her friends?)
    khairete
    suz

    Like

    • February 5, 2014 8:22 PM

      The teacher should have rolled her eyes and looked away…or simply said “that is inappropriate at this time”. She’s the one that made a big deal out of it. The others were horrified that someone that young was looking…my comment was if they are old enough to ask then they are old enough to hear an age appropriate answer.

      Like

      • February 6, 2014 6:37 AM

        i’m with you. back in ‘my’ day parents were seldom as wise as you, and edward’s mom. my mom died when i was 10 so i was SOL were it not for my friends, and books, and (eventually) biology class (which blew. my. mind.) i remember taking my dad’s copy of ‘the godfather’ behind the big rubber tree in the schoolyard and reading it to the rapt open-mouthed fascination of 3 of my friends, when the latin teacher found us. she asked for the book, cocked an eyebrow as she read the passage, then asked us if we had any questions. we shuffled our feet and mumbled ‘no’, and she smiled, gave me back the book, and suggested we make better use of our recess. i loved her!
        khairete
        suz

        Like

        • henadology permalink
          February 6, 2014 11:34 AM

          I think that I got my information from reading the Encyclopedia Britannica. Don’t think I ever got “the talk”.

          Like

        • February 6, 2014 11:52 AM

          snork!!

          Like

        • February 6, 2014 11:57 AM

          Thanks Suz…my spiritual path has definitely had an effect on my outlook.

          Like

Leave a Reply

