Skip to content

“You are important to me”

January 26, 2014
tags:

Saturday after the memorial service for Hubby’s grandmother, we were having a meal in the church’s food area.  I was sitting at a table eating and my son was sitting across from me, also eating.

The woman sitting behind me scooted her chair out and into mine.  We laughed it off and rearranged our chairs.  Hubby’s aunt was sitting next to the woman and said “Oh don’t worry about it.  It was only Aj.  Nobody important.”

I answered back, “Yep, nobody important.  It’s only me.”  Now a snapshot of things that was running through my head at that moment…”well I realize that she was onlyteasing but that was rather rude…I am only the spouse of a grandchild so I am not important…in the grand scheme of things, I am not important and eminently replaceable…I am not important, I am not special, I am…”

My son piped up across the table, interrupting the downward spiral of my thoughts, “Mom, you are important to me!”  Such perfect timing.  Such a perfect way to shatter that downward spiral.  “Thank you son.  That means a lot to me to hear that.”

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2014 3:24 AM

    Oh how rude of your Aunt in law! Saying something like “oh that’s Aj, she is accommodating and helpful” would have been okay ish, and YAY to your wonderful young man!

    Like

    • January 27, 2014 9:22 AM

      Well I don’t think it was an intentionally mean comment. She doesn’t know me that well, so doesn’t realize that would trigger my issues…

      Like

Leave a Reply

