Skip to content

Thankful Day 11

November 11, 2013

Today I am thankful for our veterans, past and present.

Today I hung a flag on my house in their honor.  I talked to my son about those in our family who have served and are currently serving.  I took him to the local cemetery where there is a memorial section in honor of the military dead.  There we poured out libations (apple-wheat beer) with our thanks.  At the table during dinner, he told us that today he is thankful for those in the military.  I’m honestly not sure if he truly understands what it is they do/have done but it is a start.

He told me today, very serious with no childish playing around, that he wanted to be a soldier.  I honestly couldn’t decide whether I was proud of him or terrified for him…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

