Skip to content

Thankful Day 7

November 7, 2013

Today I’m thankful that I was able to make the trip with my son’s school to the Denver Art Museum.  Unfortunately for some unknown reason a lot of my pictures didn’t turn out well. Not sure what happened…even odder pictures of the paintings in general did fine but not of the people I was with…  Didn’t see too many things that I liked but seeing things with the kids is what made it fun…well until the boys started to act up.  Glad I got to go though.  I will say the new building made me sick to my stomach…something having to do with the angles and such.  I don’t know.  I know I’m not the only one that had that reaction to the building.

One of my favorites is a modern painting, Soliloquy:  Life’s Fragile Fictions by Moyo Ogundipe, as I like the use of color and the almost hiddenness of some of the figures and such within it.  I typically prefer the old European paintings but there was actually some modern/contemporary pieces that I liked.

This one also struck a cord with the children…at first they were freaked out by the guy in the painting and then when they heard the story, they were saddened.

There was one painting that we saw, made within the last 10-20 years, was so realistic, it looked like a photo but was an oil painting.  A frayed red chair with a tennis shoe and electrical cord.  That painting was our bench mark for coolness/realism.  Can’t find a picture or the name of it.

There was another painting that was totally unique…it was a mountain scene, yet when you looked close, words were written within the painting, photos and and book pages (the lorax!) had been decoupaged onto the painting but you didn’t notice that when stepping back.  Another one that I should have got the name of… Ah hell, I’ll upload, otherwise you’ll think I’m nuts.

The painting with journal entries and pictures decoupaged.

The painting with journal entries and pictures decoupaged.

Detail of the painting

Detail of the painting

detail of the mountain

detail of the mountain

A couple more than I liked.

Very elaborate salt cellar

Very elaborate salt cellar

DSC08032

This one just amused me…but it was the colors of the bird that originally drew my eye

another modern painting that I liked for the colors

another modern painting that I liked for the colors

again I liked it for the use of color

again I liked it for the use of color

Finally an old favorite, because it reminds me of my mother…who says it reminds her of her and my aunt as girls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

