Skip to content

Daily Practices: 10/6 – 10/12

October 12, 2013

FYI:  I exercise as a way to honor Ares. Three times a week.  I know it is something that is supposed to be good for me but I hate to do it.  So I do it to honor Ares and hopefully gain some perks.  I’ve lost roughly 10 pounds from my heaviest weight which doesn’t seem like much until you realize how hard it is for a peri-menopausal woman to loose weight…

10/6:  felt better today, with only occasional bouts of coughing but my energy stores are easily exhausted.  Watched the Bronco game (cussing and carrying on in true spectator fashion).  Ranted about relatives who can’t make their own bills but have money for concerts, hockey games, new clothes, etc.  Continued work on my author blog.  Made dinner while Hubby prepped the grill and did a single batch of chiles.  Prepped dinner for tomorrow night.  Helped Hubby with packaging the bacon he sliced (after it has been brined and smoked) then took him to the ER after he sliced a chunk out of his finger ’cause it wouldn’t stop bleeding (yeah like we can afford that right now, sigh).  Finished packaging bacon and had a hell of a time falling asleep.

10/7:  very tired.  Worked on blog and did a long memory letter on my paternal grandmother.  Exercised. Tried a recipe for El Pastor.  Worked.

10/8:  tired, exercised, volunteered, worked; read for a while before bed…bad mistake, had a hell of a time getting to sleep despite the melatonin.  Today’s memory:  honoring my Cherokee ancestors

10/9:  got boychild off to school and went back to bed.  So tired of being tired and haven’t quite kicked this cold.  I’ve been avoiding spirital matters ’cause I just don’t feel up to it (although still doing prayers before bed).  I’m a bit disgusted that I keep slipping up on the letters to Grandparents.  Hubby is getting ready for 7-10 days of elk hunting too which always puts me in a funk…now that my son is in school I have to be a responsible adult while he’s gone instead of doing just fun stuff.  Today:  I honor those women who kept the home fires burning while the men went off to do…whatever

10/10:  I spent the day reading the book I started last night.  Didn’t fall asleep last night unil after 2.  Tired of being tired.  Child had issues.  Went to craft night just to be around other women who make me laugh.  Hubby said some things that made me feel good.  So lucky to have a great husband.

10/11:  Hubby left for elk hunting.  I chaperoned my son’s field trip to a pumpkin patch about an hour away.  Was really windy down there, so didn’t feel much warmer than home.  Bit of a sore throat from talking/yelling/cheering for 6 hours.  Fed my son the dinner he devised which was good and went to bed early

10/12:  Finally got my son set up with winter clothes/shoes as  he’s been wearing last years which just barely fit.  Came home in time to straighten my house before my aunt and cousin stopped by for a visit.  My family rarely visits me, especially this aunt, so it was pretty unusual.  I tried to be hospitable and friendly despite the short notice, my tiredness and general feelings about this aunt.  My son had a ball playing with his much older cousin.  Read him a story (despite the sore throat again aggravated by too much talking) after they left and sent him to bed.  Fussing about money and shoulds and ables.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2013 5:08 AM

    i too find it easier to exercise (and lots of other stuff too, when i think about it) if i dedicate the effort to a god.
    hope you feel better soon.
    khairete
    suz

    Like

    • October 13, 2013 9:55 AM

      I’ve had a hard time lately meeting my obligation to him. I’m hoping that between being ill and the insomnia that I’ve been given a temporary pass ’cause I’m just not up to it.

      Like

  2. October 13, 2013 5:23 AM

    Sorry your cold is still dragging on, but Kudos for you for getting so much done despite it!

    Like

    • October 13, 2013 9:56 AM

      Thanks! I think it is a combination of cold, allergies and insomnia with the insomnia being the major cause. I haven’t been getting any where close to my needed 8 hours a night. Last night was only about 3.

      Like

Leave a Reply

