Skip to content

Review: Game of Thrones books

September 15, 2013
tags: ,

So I finished the last published book in the series last week.  I enjoyed the book yet at the same time I felt brutalized by it.

First, these books give a definite idea (minus the dragons and magic and such) what the Middle Ages was like.  Brutal.  Savage.  Life was cheap.  If a sword didn’t kill you than some illness or treachery probably would.  Etc.  Never before have I read a fictional book that made me so very glad that I was not living through that time period.  Knights and Kings and their battles are often so romanticized in books.  Not in the Game of Thrones.

Second, damn!  Don’t get attached to any character because ever single one will die…except for the ones that one wishes for them to die.  Probably just like real life.

Maybe that is my issue with these books…they are so life like that one is fascinated and horrified all at the same time.  I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve said “I can’t believe that happened!”  It took me months to get through the series simply because I just don’t have the time to read like I used to do.  Yet every time I’d been away from it for a couple of weeks, I still went back to it despite the train wreck (or maybe because of the train wreck) it had become.

Is there any way for the author to tie it up so that he can finish the series?  Will we ever get some sort of happy ending?  Or will the ending just leave us disgusted and disgruntled? I’m afraid to root for anyone because that may sign their death warrant!  Hell, will there by anybody left between what’s coming and their own battles with each other?  The very unpredictability and the author’s willingness to kill off his main characters is probably what keeps his readers coming back…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2013 10:51 AM

    Ah a novel from the David Gemmell school of writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

