Skip to content

insert panic button

September 11, 2013

Ok, so I’ve just returned to the working world recently.  I work at a library.  Originally hired to work Tuesday afternoons.  Then they added on the first Thursday of the month.  That works fine.  I’m still adjusting to being a working stiff…a working stiff accountable to others.  It is a bit of an adjustment after being a freelancer (aka housewife then stay-at-home-mom).  My son has been very supportive of this.  I have noticed that when I get home from work though, he is in my arm pit until bed time.  We were (are) adjusting.

Work called today.  They’ve asked me to take on more hours.  Evenings two days a week.  Sure, no problem.  Hubby can be home from work in time to take over.  I tell them I’ll do it.

Then practicalities hit…

when-in-panic-when-in-doubt-run-in-circles-scream-and-shout

Crap.  Hubby goes hunting for a week in October.  What am I going to do with the child on those evenings?

Crap.  Will I be able to get the week of Dragonfest off?  (Yes I know that is 11 months away but this is exactly what my mind went to after the above.)

Crap.  What happens if…I get sick, he gets sick or he gets sick.  What happens if….blah, blah, blah.

Yes I know this is what working parents deal with all the time.  But this is new to me.  I haven’t been in a workplace environment (read this as non-construction site where I worked with/for my husband) since 1998.  Winter of 1995 I worked at a retail shop in a ski resort.  After that I worked as a night manager on a campground in exchange for reduced rent for a couple of years.  Other than that the only work I’ve done is with hubby.  When I was working I didn’t have a child to worry about.  After our son came along, I either didn’t work or we took him with us.So this whole thing is new to me.  I don’t care that other parents go through it regularly, I’m not them!  And the panic button has been shoved in so far that it has formed a black hole in the  panel! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Other practicalities set in like…the need to make a closing check list so that nothing is forgotten on those evenings where I am tired due to insomnia the night before.  Will I be working alone?  That has its own fears.  What happens if my truck acts up?  What happens if…blah, blah, blah.  Sheesh.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunny permalink
    September 14, 2013 6:27 AM

    Hi I just wanted you to know – DON’T PANIC. I know it’s easy to say and not so easy to do but yu got to try. Take a breath. Step back and think outside the box.
    I work 40hrs a week, in the middle of the day -for a while I had to adjust my schedule so I could still get my workday in. What saved me is I asked my boss if it was ok to bring my son with me since it wasn’t to busy, they agreed and my 4yo was here with me somdays like 5hrs. At first it was a little stressful but he can entertain himself and my desk area is pretty big. So maybe you can ask if its ok for him to come with you just in case, not that you’ll make it into a habit.
    Another plus is working at the library maybe you can post a sign saying your looking for a babysitter who is will to be on call for you. There are always nice people who won’t charge an arm and a leg to watch your child. Just some suggestions 🙂

    Like

    • September 14, 2013 7:15 AM

      Thanks Sunny! I think I’ve got child care worked out. So that is one worry off my mind…though it comes up with plenty more. I’m sure it will be fine one we get used to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

