Skip to content

9/11: I remember

September 11, 2013

Today, I remember the living.  Today I remember those whose birthdays are today:  My mother, my cousin and at least one friend.

Today, I remember the events of 9/11.  I remember those who died, those who helped, all our soldiers and those who mourn still.

I think this quote from Sannion’s blog is very apt…

“The presence of the gods will not shelter us from bad things happening, because it can’t: bad things are just a part of physical existence. Because they were mortals even Sarpedon, Aeneas, Melampos and Antony had to taste of death, despite being well-loved by the gods. What the presence of the gods does is help us heal and grow stronger, help us pick up the broken pieces and form them into something beautiful and meaningful. Bad things are trials that make us wiser, stronger, more compassionate and creative. They are the fuel of evolution that helps us to reach our full potential as human beings. It gives value to our experiences. I look at the face of my beloved and I know there’s a chance she won’t be here tomorrow. But now, in this moment, she is here with me and so I will show her how much I value her, never letting an opportunity to express that love go by unanswered. That is the heart of Pagan theology – recognizing the fragile and ephemeral nature of existence and celebrating it as much as you can, while you can.“

A Prayer of Remembrance

Today I remember the events of 9/11.
I pray to the Gods of earth, sea and sky and humbly ask for your blessings.
I pray the victims found comfort in the halls of their ancestors.
I pray for those left behind to find solace and healing.
I pray that those who aided the survivors be blessed with an abundance of good.
May we all learn to see beyond past hatreds so that we may share a peaceful future.
May those who would kill in the name of religion find better ways to honor their Gods.
May we be freed of the effects of fundamentalism, from wherever it might come.
May we all learn the grace of living with those different from ourself.
I pray to the Gods and Goddesses, to the beloved ancestors,
Look upon Your children here and aid us in building a better future.

Remembrance chart designed by me. Click on picture to get the free chart.

Remembrance chart designed by me. Click on picture to get the free chart. Polytheist and monotheist versions.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 11, 2014 10:32 AM

    Reblogged this on 4 of Wands and commented:

    My post from last year…I don’t think there is anything that I can add to it…

    Like

Leave a Reply

