Skip to content

My accomplishments for the week

September 6, 2013

I’ve been rather unmotivated this week.  So instead of focusing on that, I’m going to focus on what I DID accomplish.  Seriously, this is harder for me than you would imagine.  I often forget that I’m not the only one that feels this way.  Thankfully the Bloggess always seems to come in with a timely reminder.

“we judge ourselves by incredibly high standards that are unattainable or which are impossible to keep up without crashing.  We remember the things we didn’t do well and seldom congratulate ourselves on the things we do fantastically.  Even in success we don’t give ourselves the chance to really appreciate what we’ve done and what we have.”

What did I accomplish this week?

  • I went back to work at a non-family-member-owned/operated job for the first time since 1995.  I worked two days this week and did just fine.  I even enjoyed it for the most part which is a very new work-related feeling (I highly recommend it!) .  I was even complimented on my ability to do one important task well.
  • I didn’t cave to emotional manipulation from a family member.  I stuck to my guns because I believe my/our decisions are the best ones for our child.   My/our job is to prepare him for the real world which means helping him (or insisting others) to make the proper decisions for his well being.s.
  • I took my son on the walk were we used our imaginations in collaboration with the environment were visiting.  In doing so, we discover funnel spiders and pretty (to us) rocks.
  • I finished one of my redesigned charts this week.
  • I’ve kept up with my exercises this week.
  • I’ve met all my volunteer responsibilities at my son’s school.
  • I’ve met my weekly volunteer blogging responsibility.
  • I’ve got laundry finished.
  • I made that phone call that I’ve been putting off.
  • I slept through the night every night this week.

What did I thankfully avoid doing this week?

  • I avoided stressing about potential problems the new job will give us in terms of scheduling.
  • I avoided major food arguments with my son and
  • neither did I have to do unfortunate compromises with him over food too.
  • I avoided stressing about where money is coming to pay for this month’s bills
  • I avoided stressing about the next phase in my husband’s business as his main general contractor moves on.
  • and I didn’t eat anyone.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2013 3:14 PM

    This all sounds positive to me – well done you!

    Like

    • September 6, 2013 3:19 PM

      Thank you. Positive is not a natural state for me. I could go back and put a but in each statement without even having to stop thinking at it. Looking at the list did encourage me a little to get more stuff done. Laundry is put away along with a few other things.

      Like

  2. September 6, 2013 4:58 PM

    I read the Blogess and hoo boy did it resonate!

    Like

  3. September 8, 2013 1:56 PM

    Good job! I know the feeling… Good to know you’re sticking to your guns!

    Like

    • September 8, 2013 2:01 PM

      Yes though it is hard because one always has the urged to “get along” when it comes to family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

