Skip to content

Movie: Anna Karenina

June 26, 2013
tags: ,

Ah.  This movie broke my heart.  I so wanted a happy ending for her.  I read this book years ago when I was much younger and had no one talk it over with…as I remember it confused me.  I’ve always wanted to see a movie based upon it for that reason.  I very much need to go back and read it…but I admit I’m afraid to…love based on passion and loved based on intellect.  I understand that better than I should, I think.  At least I do live in times that are not so very restrictive and I’m not talking about the corsets or other female frippery.  To avoid wallowing in the melancholy induced be the movie, that is all I’m going to say about that.

Kiera Knightly did a wonderful job I think and I’ve always adored Matthiew Macfaddon (though I couldn’t figure out for the longest time why I liked his character immediately…especially given that the character is a skirt chaser) since I first saw him in MI-5 or Spooks.  I admit I wanted to shake Jude Law’s character in the hopes that it would loosen the passion that he keeps bottled up.  The costumes were gorgeous.  The setting of the majority of the movie in the theater with moving scenery was somewhat distracting at first but it grew on me.  This is a long movie and I’m glad my son was not here to try and watch it with me.  I was able to enjoy it with worries of needing to explain or stopping.

Not a movie that I will own or watch again as it brings up too many of my inner demons…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2013 2:46 PM

    Correction…it wasn’t Anna Karenina that I’ve read but Eugene Onegin…oops.

    Like

  2. juliaergane permalink
    June 27, 2013 3:54 PM

    You need to read Anna Karenina (as well as War & Peace). I read these along with The Brothers Karamazov in the early 1970s, just after I graduated from college. I’m not really a fan of Anna’s — I loved Kitty.

    Like

    • June 27, 2013 4:03 PM

      Well I do have Anna Karenina in my to-be-read pile. I used to have War & Peace in there too… Time. I need more time! Did you see the movie?

      Like

Leave a Reply

