Skip to content

Works in Progress

May 30, 2013

So to prove that I haven’t been a couch potato some pics of works in progress.  (Why no, I’m not procrastinating on my packing!  I love to pack!  All the decisions and limitations are fun!  My inner girl scout?  I don’t have one of those!)

First up is the quilt tops I made using a new-to-me quilting technique, scallops.  Traditionally I think this is a hand sewn technique but I used my machine because I’m lazy and I think it will be sturdier for pillows.  The blue fabric is going to be the back of the pillow.

The quilt tops I made for living room pillows using a new to me technique.

The quilt tops I made for living room pillows using a new to me technique.

 

I’ve been searching high and low to find fabric to finish this project.  This is what I’ve found.  What do you think?  Acorn fabric for “framing” the piece?

I think I finally found the fabric to make the pillow!

I think I finally found the fabric to make the pillow!

 

This is about two unsteady weeks of progress on my son’s birth chart.  I haven’t touched it in recent memory and  probably won’t until after vacation.  The background fabric is a  pale sunshine yellow (stupid camera!)

2 weeks of progress on my son's birth chart

2 weeks of progress on my son’s birth chart

The final pic for today is my traveling project.  I redesigned Fiona Fay by Brooke’s Books Publishing who typically designs for perforated paper.  I rarely stitch on the stuff so I redesign her works so that I can stitch on regular fabric.  The colors are different, as is the dress, the broom, the face and the hat (somewhat).  Will eventually go in my kitchen.  I still have the original chart in very good condition that I’d like to trade for one of her other witch or fairy charts.  HINT, HINT!!  🙂

a redesign of Fiona Fay by Brooke Books Publishing

a redesign of Fiona Fay by Brooke Books Publishing

Ok, Ok, I probably ought to back to being productive…or maybe I should paint my toenails…

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

