Skip to content

Ares Meditation

April 23, 2013

Middle of doing a centering meditation as part of my daily devotions,  I found myself in a temple instead of in my usual mental location.  I continued with my typical daily devotional.  When it came time to recenter myself, I returned to that temple.

It was a temple for Ares.  I was dressed in a white chiton(?) trimmed with red and standing in front of a very large, humongously large statue of Ares seated upon a throne.  His helmet hanging on one side of the seat back, shield and sword laying to either side of the throne.  I had the impression the statue was looking down at me.   Studying me.  I went to my knees because honestly while I adore Ares, he scares me too and I’m aware I’m not up to his physical standards.  I have never seen his bloodier side and hope to never do so but I am aware it is there.  I’m not a soldier.  I’m not even particularly in shape.  I’m a slightly over weight housewife who hates to exercise but am trying to get my physical form into better shape (the only thing that keeps me going is that I offer my efforts to Ares).  I’m studying the floor of the temple in a bit of a tizzy.  A hand reaches out and raises me to my feet.  The god that the statue is modeled after stands before me.  He is also dressed in white and red cloth with armor (dress armor?  Chest plate, grieves and forearm pieces, with a Roman-esque kilt on his lower half) .  He is not as physically imposing as I would have expected.  6′ or so, muscular and fit but not muscle bound and brawny.  Handsome, with dark hair closely trimmed.  No beard or maybe a 5 o’clock shadow.  His energy rolls with a dark glee which feels capricious (can be with you or against you without warning).  He studies me.  Walks around me.  Slaps me on the back, saying “Keep up the effort” and walks off.

Yikes.  Wow.  Oh boy…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ladyimbrium permalink
    April 23, 2013 1:03 PM

    This actually gave me goosebumps. I’m glad you posted it, because I rather think I needed that reminder myself. I’m also having a moment of giddy-verification because you describe Him exactly as I most often visualize Him. Complete with oddly Roman-esque additions to otherwise Greek attire. I still can’t really figure out just what the implications of that are.

    Like

    • April 23, 2013 1:42 PM

      To me, it means that he is Ares and Mars..,but then I’m not a hard polytheist. Rather “squishy” actually. It often seems that Ares is the “bad” or bloody thirst soldier and that Mars is the “good” or competent soldier. He is both and neither just like all of us.

      Like

  2. April 24, 2013 12:28 AM

    When the Deities take you, and present you in their temple, and show themselves to you, you are very blessed! How wonderful that this God gave you this precious gift! Whe bloggers share their spiritual experiences, it gives hope to those who are seeking their God/Goddess.

    Like

    • April 24, 2013 10:36 AM

      Which is why I share my experiences…how ever uncomfortable that feels sometimes. To encourage others to keep trying. It wasn’t until I found my “proper” path that I started having experiences like these.

      Like

Leave a Reply

