Skip to content

What to do when a large children’s book falls apart

April 10, 2013

A couple of years ago, my son received a book of Disney Bedtime tales.  It started falling apart almost immediately.  I made some attempts to fix it but  they never lasted for long.  Since my son is now starting to read to himself, I decided more drastic measures where needed.

First I tore each story out of the book and stapled them individually.  Luckily this book was set up in that manner instead of back to back.

the before picture

the before picture

Originally I was going to try to put the stories in a 3 ring binder but the pages are not tall enough for a 3-hole punch.  Then I thought about just getting an accordion folder for storage, but what would I do with the cover?  Duh, turn the cover into an accordion type folder.  Using hot glue and yellow felt, I enclosed the top and the bottom of the hard bound exterior to make the accordion folder for holding the books.  I only burned myself once.  Amazing!

what the edges look like

what the edges look like

interior of the storage

interior of the storage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

with the books inside

with the books inside

Now to see if my 6 year old can  keep from destroying both the uncovered books and the folder.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie Knight permalink
    April 10, 2013 4:31 PM

    Wow, what a great idea. I will have to pass this on.

    Like

    • April 10, 2013 5:47 PM

      There is someone who makes purses out of old hardbacks. That is where I got the idea. 🙂

      Like

  2. Drekfletch permalink
    April 16, 2013 5:13 PM

    Put masking tape over the stapled edges of the stories. Then color them distinctly. Solid colors, regular stripes in multiple colors (including the white of the tape). That way if he really likes one story, it’ll be easier to find.

    Like

Leave a Reply

