Skip to content

Happy Spring Equinox!

March 20, 2013
Happy Spring Egg

Happy Spring Egg

I’ll be doing a ritual later today but the write up will appear on my DP blog, Oaken Scrolls.  I celebrate the start of Kore-Persephone’s journey.  She will not arrive in the high country for many weeks yet but it is nice to see snow melt after a snow storm.  Snow pack is still way low, about 73% of normal, so while I’d like it to stop, I’ve been biting my tongue because we really do need the moisture.

I wrote an Equinox Statement of Intent that can be used for either equinox, which you can see here.  This is based on the Equinox Devotional from the Solitary Druid Fellowship.

The prayer I’ll be using is…hmmm I cannot find it.  Alllrrrrighty then.  I will type it in down below.

And for the stitchers, a link to the free chart I created last year (pictured above) but still haven’t stitched!

************

The Ascent

Bless the Earth with growth
for your daughter’s ascent begins!
Oh Holy Demeter, Mother of the Land,
the Dance of Life continues.
From death comes life,
for Plouton releases the seeds
to be his Queen’s heralds,
trumpeting her return
in a blaze of color and scents
but only your loving care
can give them their cue.
Hail Mother Demeter!

Zeus, Lord of Thunder,
you who pour the rain
Bless the earth
with neither too little
nor too much.
Wash us clean so that
we too can celebrate
your daughter’s return.
Hail Papa Zeus!

Persephone,
Queen of the Underworld,
you brought light
to the realms of the dead,
gave joy to its king and
to all that dwell there
but the wheel has turned,
the Dance of Life continues.
Please, kind and generous Lady
do not tarry with your love.
It is only because of your promise
to return to the land above
that your mother relents and
allows greenery again.
Your return brings balance,
warmth and flowers
to the world I love.
Hail Persephone!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2013 7:41 AM

    I hope you have a great Equinox and start to feel better (no more nasty bugs affecting you and your loved ones!)

    Like

    • March 20, 2013 7:45 AM

      Thanks! We’ve been maintaining health, I’ve just been busy doing stuff offline. Trying to catch up on the DP, crafting and such. Hope the longer days brings all sorts of good stuff your way!

      Like

  2. March 20, 2013 7:51 AM

    It’s a wonderful time of the year. 🙂

    Like

    • March 20, 2013 8:00 AM

      It’s getting there. 😉 Currently only 26 degrees here so it has a ways to go.

      Like

  3. Sean MacDhai permalink
    March 20, 2013 7:53 AM

    Happy Spring to ya, sista! 🙂

    Like

  4. March 20, 2013 7:57 AM

    Reblogged this on Oaken Scrolls and commented:

    Contains the prayer I will be using during ritual today

    Like

  5. March 20, 2013 8:19 AM

    I love your prayer, even though I’m not Hellenic. 🙂 Blessings!

    Victoria 🙂

    Like

  6. educationsupportuk permalink
    March 23, 2013 8:35 AM

    Reblogged this on My Devon and commented:
    Lovely spring cross stitch. I love the daffodil and bunnies.

    Like

Leave a Reply

