Skip to content

Plans and notes

March 17, 2013
tags:

Moved from Oaken Scrolls

I plan to start a weekly nature observation too, from Equinox to Equinox.  I believe we are supposed to go somewhere, but I’m going to do it from the back of my house at minimum.  I hope it will help encourage me to venture out and about more often as I tend to be quite the homebody, especially during the winter months.  I will record my observations in the daily practices journal that I publish weekly.

I have noticed lately that my Two Powers meditation consists of  standing on a sea shore, one foot in the water, one foot on land and reaching for the sky.  I like it better than the tree impression for some reason.  It settles me better.

I also hope to finish reading my first required book this week and get the book report finished.

I need to make some progress on the wheel of the year workbook and there is planning the equinox ritual too.  I will be welcoming Persephone as she starts her journey from the underworld to visit her mother above.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2013 8:43 AM

    You don’t have to go anywhere. I don’t drive, so it was pretty much impossible for me to “go anywhere.” I found I simply kept an eye on nature and my relationship deepened. Don’t make the requirements harder than they need to be. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Victoria

    Like

  2. March 18, 2013 12:30 PM

    I do all my nature meditations in my back yard – frequently on my screened in porch, when the weather is nasty or the mosquitoes are out. My relationship has deepened immensely, even just getting into the wind, though I have a better feeling when I’m actually on the ground/grass or have my hands in the dirt. Still, I’ve never “gone” anywhere for it!

    Like

    • March 18, 2013 8:01 PM

      I got the impression that they want you to go somewhere “wild”.

      Like

      • March 19, 2013 8:05 AM

        To go somewhere “wild”, I would have to drive a significant distance, or pay money to enter the nature center (I live in the city). I think the goal is just to get outside and connect with actual nature in as natural an environment as you can get.

        As well, there is no “nature meditation” requirement – the requirement itself seeks to have you create a spiritual connection with nature, but I see nothing in the requirement that would disqualify getting outside in your yard as a way to do that. http://www.adf.org/members/training/dp/criteria/ In fact, the primary focus of the requirement seems to be to understand both a spiritual connection to nature and to understand your affects on nature and the environment in your daily life, and none of that requires that you go to a truly “wild” place to do (at least in my experience).

        Like

  3. March 18, 2013 8:00 PM

    Please do email your article to me! Thanks Victoria.

    Like

Leave a Reply

