Skip to content

of doctors and physicals

February 28, 2013
tags:

Went to the doctor yesterday.  You know, this aging thing is for the birds.

There was the “your blood pressure is a bit high on one end” which gives the typical “you need to loose 10 pounds, get more aerobic exercise and cut back on salt.”

There’s the “you are over 40, time for a mammogram” and “the hmmm this lump is rather close to your breast, while is probably just a lipoma or fatty tumor make sure you mention it to the tech”.  Cue late night freak out.  Mammogram isn’t until next week.  Trying to stay positive…yeah that is a lot more work than it probably should be.  I have a CWW after my name.  Certified Worry Wart.

There’s the “welcome to peri-menopause” speech.  All my complaints seem to be related to this lovely stage of female development.  Insomnia, memory loss, mood swings, stubborn weight, hot flashes, etc.  Tell me again why women are called the weaker sex?

There’s the “did you just call me old?”  Response:  “I’ll always be older than you…”  There is that.  Nice to deal with things with a female, older than me doctor.

Read an interesting blog by Jax of  Pagan Princesses about Histamine Intolerance.  It is the first time that I’ve seen any connection between the foods I can’t eat without getting major abdominal cramps.  I asked the doc about it.  She’d never heard of it.  She suggested an amylase deficiency.  Says to take beano before meals.  Haven’t decided if this is something she meant I need to do before every meal or just meals that may be problematic.  Probably ought to send her an email as her office has finally moved into the digital age.

Going in this morning after fasting to get my blood drawn for various tests.  Oh joy.  It is currently 4 degrees out there.  I don’t want to leave the house but I’m hungry!  Silly me, I can ask then if I see her.

Did you know that malpractice insurance now requires a doctor to have a “chaperon” when doing a medical exam so that there is a witness in case of an accusation of inappropriate touching.  Mind boggling what lawyers and greedy people can do.

This rambling blog is brought to you by TMI and I want some caffeine!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2013 9:22 AM

    I’ll be 50 this Sunday. I hear you about this aging stuff.

    Like

  2. February 28, 2013 10:45 AM

    Good luck with everything – I am knocking on the door of 48 (7th March) and my next raft of medical “stuff” involves a whole spine MRI and a lumbar puncture 😦

    Like

    • March 4, 2013 10:53 AM

      For some reason your responses are always caught in my spam filter. 😦

      Thanks! Good luck with your own! Hugs!

      Like

  3. seanmcdh permalink
    March 1, 2013 4:47 AM

    “your blood pressure is a bit high on one end” which gives the typical “you need to loose 10 pounds, get more aerobic exercise and cut back on salt.”
    LOL!!! You are NOT alone sista! I just got the *exact* same thing last autumn!!! I am 39, going to be 40 in June. I lost a couple pounds and brought my blood pressure down. I have to take fish oil pills YUCK for my cholesterol, or she will put me on lipitor and I *hate* taking medicine. I now take a slew so natural supplements: fish oil, green tea extract, garlic oil, B complex, vitamin E oil, and multi-vitamin. LOL! Getting old is fun, so many new challenging things! 😉

    Like

    • March 1, 2013 8:31 AM

      I’ve taken fish oil for years…it is good for all sorts of things like your brain and arthritis. Get the enteric coated pills. They will help you avoid fish burbs.

      Like

      • March 1, 2013 8:34 AM

        I currently take a menopause multi, fish oil, vitamin D, and calcium. Thinking about adding E and B complex. Such a lovely attitude. “Getting old is fun, so many new challenging things.” Ha. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

