Skip to content

I found proof

February 25, 2013

that I’m loosing my mind.  Time to sign me up for pre-entry into an Alzheimer’s home.  I joke but I am most horrified.  Last night I finished reading a 642 page book.  It took me about a week (alas for the days when I could read a book straight through…)  I enjoyed the story which was told through a series of letters.  Then I went to enter it into my inventory sheet.

Yeah, I have so many books, I keep an inventory of them, just in case, for insurance reasons.  Most of the books on my to-be-read bookcase are not on there but there are a few from the last time we did an actual inventory of them (pre-child days).  Those are in bold on the excel sheet.  When I read them, I remove the bold format.

Any way, last night I went to enter this book in and found that it was already on there in a non-bold format.  “What the…”  I went to check my bookcase and sure enough, the book was there.  I read it back in October of 2005 according to my notation inside of the book.  Except.  I. Do. Not. Remember. Reading. It. Whatsoever.  That has never happened before.  Sure I’ve grabbed books, got part way through them and realized that I’ve read the book before.  I may not always remember everything about the book, but I do remember having read it before.  I did not remember this book.  Not one character.  Not one scene.  Not one bit.  I can’t even blame it on the book being unmemorable because I thought it was a good book.

Hence the reason that I am absolutely horrified.  I’ve noticed memory issues since my pregnancy.  Things that were easily passed off as pregnancy related issues.  Then with this whole hormonal flux (aka peri-menopause), I still have memory issues from time to time (Hubby often says “I told you about this…” and I shouldn’t argue with him because he very well may have…but I often do any way.)  While irritating, those don’t bother to much as minor details in an occasionally busy life.

But to forget a book that is over 600 pages long…that freaks me out. A lot.  Bunches.  As in OMFG, how do I stave off forgetting the important stuff.  Is it too late.  Am I doomed? Am I just being hysterical? What? Why? Doomed!  I am doomed!  [cue chicken little already]

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2013 9:08 PM

    If you are worried have you thought of seeing a doctor who specializes in memory loss? It might if nothing else give you a bit of comfort to get a professional opinion. I am sure it is scary though having that kind of lapse in memory that is atypical for you.

    Like

  2. March 2, 2013 6:26 PM

    This has happened to me, too, though perhaps not with a book. There are so many things i Just completely DO NOT remember at all. Movies I’ve seen, etc. It’s freaky as hell. And pretty disappointing.

    Like

  3. J_Agathokles permalink
    March 4, 2013 1:15 AM

    I also keep an inventory on my books 🙂

    In any case, don’t be too alarmed by this, it could happen to anyone. I sometimes had stuff like this happening, where I completely forgot about ever having seen or read something.

    Like

    • March 4, 2013 7:49 AM

      Thanks. With other things that have come up recently, this has been moved farther down my worry list. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

