Skip to content

Prayer for Theogamia

February 1, 2013

Blessed be this day
for it is the Anniversary
of the day Zeus and Hera wed.
The first marriage ceremony
ever among the Shining Ones,
Hail the royal couple!

A union, a trust, a promise
between two lovers made sacred.
This day heralds a change,
both for the weather
and for imitating mortals.
Hail the wedded couple!

Mind not what the tales say,
written by the envious
to reflect their own treachery,
for this is a loving union
filled with love and laughter.
Hail the joyous couple!

Today I rejoice with you,
the first married couple.
All honor and praise is yours.
I asking only that your joy
continue to bless my own union.
Hail Zeus and Hera!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2013 12:45 PM

    This is beautiful! I plan on celebrating the Theogamia on Thursday and I was wondering if I could use this poem during ritual? (I totally understand if you’re not comfortable!)

    Like

    • February 5, 2013 1:11 PM

      Thanks! Go for it. I post my prayers on this blog so that others can make use of them if they wish.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Meditation journal 1/27 – 2/2 « Oaken Scrolls
  2. Meditation journal 1/27 – 2/2 | 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

