Skip to content

Wisdom Essay

January 30, 2013
tags: ,

moved from Oaken Scrolls

I think I’m going to have a hard time writing these essays partially because I find them irritating and partially because they are so subjective.  Virtues are something to strive for not something that you are.  You can make wise decisions on occasion but that doesn’t mean you are full of wisdom.  Often you were just lucky.

wis•dom [wiz-duh m] noun The quality or state of being wise; knowledge of what is true or right coupled with just judgment as to action; sagacity, discernment or insight. (http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/wisdom)

The Dedicant Handbook defines wisdom as follows: “Good judgment, the ability to perceive people and situations correctly, deliberate about and decide on the correct response.”

These are very similar definitions with the DP definition written for better clarity than the other. The older I get the more that I think that no one is truly wise. Wisdom is the ability to combine knowledge, experience, emotional detachment and sympathy to see the truth of a situation and act appropriately. Yet truth can be rather subjective and everyone is fallible. No one has done it all or seen it all. I could list fictional characters that seem wise to me or at least have their moments of wisdom but I do not think of anyone I know as wise. More experienced? Yes. Wise, no. I see wisdom or the act of being wise an elusive trait to strive for but know that I will never actually be wise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 8:15 AM

    Very interesting! I like your honest take on Wisdom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

