Skip to content

PBP: Xanadu

December 30, 2012

Xanadu.  The word always makes me think of Olympus, muses, music, roller skates and romance…in that order.  It doesn’t make me think of Kubla Khan or Samuel Coleridge.

Yup.  I’m a child of the 80s.  I loved the movie Xanadu.  I loved the whole concept of the Gods (and their children) still interacting with humans even after all this time.  It was a movie that gave me hope as I had no sense of connection with the religion I was raised with in, try as I might (and I kept trying all the way through high school).  It wasn’t even a hope I realized I harbored until many, many years later.  Doesn’t hurt that I loved the music (and still do!) and roller skating was just too cool!

Was it campy?  Yes.  Did it portray the gods in a favorable light? Nope.  Yet it managed to instill the hope of something else, something more within me.  Maybe after all this time the gods were not dead as the Church liked to claim.

While I like the poem Kubla Khan, it doesn’t inspire me. It does seem like a drug induced dream.  It is filled with lovely visuals but it leaves you hanging.  I hate that feeling.   Too bad he never finished it.  Darn that interruption.

I think the lyrics to Rush’s song Xanadu even better as they are more…complete.  They are based on Mr. Coleridge’s poem.  (The instrumentals on the song are great.  The singing…not so much. I’d love to here a version of this song that does the lyrics justice.) But again it doesn’t inspire me and actually it sounds like a vampire’s complaint.

To seek the sacred river Alph
To walk the caves of ice
To break my fast on honey dew
And drink the milk of paradise

I have heard the whispered tales of immortality
The deepest mystery
From an ancient book, I took a clue
I scaled the frozen mountain tops of eastern lands unknown
Time and man alone
Searching for the lost Xanadu, Xanadu

To stand within the pleasure dome
Decreed by Kubla Khan
To taste anew the fruits of life
The last immortal man

To find the sacred river Alph
To walk the caves of ice
Oh, I will dine on honey dew
And drink the milk of paradise

A thousand years have come and gone but time has passed me by
Stars stopped in the sky
Frozen in an ever lasting view
Waiting for the world to end, weary of the night
Praying for the light
Prison of the lost Xanadu, Xanadu

Held within the pleasure dome
Decreed by Kubla Khan
To taste my bitter triumph
As a mad immortal man

Never more shall I return
Escape these caves of ice
For I have dined on honey dew
And drunk the milk of paradise
Oh, paradise

But that campy 80s movie, that inspired hope in my heart.  It inspired a dream where the gods were real and interested.  Probably my first actual introduction to the gods outside of books…

"a year of exploring the Pagan world through blogging"

“a year of exploring the Pagan world through blogging”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ibgreenie3 permalink
    December 30, 2012 11:43 PM

    Great post! The Gods & Goddesses reach us in many different ways. Thank goodness!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. PBP: Yearbook « 4 of Wands

Leave a Reply

