Skip to content

Holiday crafts

December 18, 2012

Below is a collection of stuff made for this holiday season…

First off is the gifts for a friend’s hubby.  My understanding is that it is traditional to receive 8 small gifts and one big gift for Chanukah.  So I made 8 small Davidic stars out of paper by various means (origami, snowflake, outline and simplified outline).

8 paper stars for the first 8 days of Chanukah

8 paper stars for the first 8 days of Chanukah

For the 9th day, I went to Kooler Design Studio and used their free Hebrew Alphabet to stitch this up.

Stitched gift for the 9th day of Chanukah

Got the next idea from pinterest I think.  Not really sure as I’ve done a lot of looking around for gifts to make.  These are called helping hands pot holders.  We used fabric paint and my son’s hand.  These will go to his grand mothers.

Helping Hands pot holders

Helping Hands pot holders

Now this next craft is simple, fun and addicting. Be warned.  These ornaments are the party favors I will hand out to the adult females that attend my Solstice Open House.  Glass bulbs, Pledge tile and vinyl floor finish and glitter.  Found this craft on Mom’s Crafty Space.

All the shiny with none of the mess!  Party favor ornaments

All the shiny with none of the mess! Party favor ornaments

Every year I stitch an ornament for my son.  This is the ornament he picked this year.  Finished stitching it tonight.  Need to turn it into an ornament yet.

My son's yearly tree ornament - Dragon 2012

My son’s yearly tree ornament – Dragon 2012

I’ve also made fudge (which didn’t come out as well as usual due to some thermometer issues) and butterball cookies (also known as wedding cakes or tea cookies I think).  Still have acorn bread, cinnamon ornaments and another batch of cookies to make before Saturday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2012 4:48 PM

    The Hubs LOVES his gift! It’s his treasure, and it tends to move around the house so he can look at it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

