Skip to content

Ending the month of Thanks-giving

December 1, 2012
tags:

Thursday – on this day I was thankful for the fact that my job is the home.  Yes I am a housewife and often the subject of derision.  Never to my face, as few are brave enough to do that.  A housewife and a stay-at-home-mother is often subjected to laughter, to accusations of “not having a job” or “not working”.  We are housekeepers, cooks, laundress, seamstress, errand “boy”, etc. We are the ones that make a house a home. Yet we are also the ones that volunteer at schools, that make the treats you like to eat, are always there when you have a shoulder to cry upon, are always willing to lend a hand.  We are also the ones that are fortunate enough to be able to do “nothing” when we are sick.  Our bosses do not hassle us if we do not show up for work.  It has been a very rough week for me physically.  I sincerely hope that no else gets whatever it was that I had.  I’m thankful that I was the one to have it, because I could “afford” to have the down time.  I’m thankful that my husband does well enough that I do not have to have a paying job.  I can be there for my son (whether at his school or at home), I can help my husband with his business, I can do crafts and find other ways to save us money.  I’m very thankful for that.

Friday – I am thankful for this exercise over the past month.  It has reminded me to find the good in every day.  It reminded me how lucky I truly am and that is a reminder my overly pessimistic self needs.  I have love, family, a home, clothes, food, books…I’m luckier than many.  This is a good and important thing to remember.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Medwolf permalink
    December 1, 2012 8:33 PM

    And we are thankful to have you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

