Skip to content

Thankful Day 27 – late

November 28, 2012
tags:

I was at the grocery story yesterday and was overwhelmed with the choices before me and no clear idea of what drug to actually get.  It is times like this when I really miss that section of my life where I was intimately involved with a nurse.  In asking the pharmacist what to get to suppress my cough so that I can sleep, he told me honey.  Yeah that works all of 5 minutes.  I ended up going home with nothing because I didn’t want to waste money on something that wouldn’t help.  The balm helps…if I keep that area of skin uncovered so that I can breath the fumes.  In bed, the only thing left uncovered is my head…

My coughing was minimal all day so I really thought that I had gotten past the worst of it.  Yeah not so much.  It picked up right before bed time.  I tried chamomile, lemon and honey…which helped until I stopped drinking.  Went to bed and sat at an angle…managed to fall asleep despite not being flat only to have Hubby accidentally wake me up when he came to bed.  He kicked the bed frame causing an earthquake in my world.  Couldn’t get back to sleep after that.  Couldn’t get comfortable, started coughing more.  About 2:30 I got up and made up more of my cough remedy in hopes that I’d be able to go back to sleep.  Went back to bed.  Tossed and turned and coughed.  Started feeling bad for Hubby who I had to be disturbing, so I grabbed a quilt, a sleep mask (because I need it perfectly dark to sleep) and went down to the couch.

Now my couch is a black velvet reupholstered Victorian number that we were given by one of Hubby’s clients.  It looks great (well if you don’t look to closely at the imprints that the cats have left on it in certain places).  The cushion is actually stuffed with feathers which makes it not too comfortable to sit on for hours at a time (which keeps me from doing movie marathons).  However, the angle of the arms and the height of them and the bolster pillow are perfect for when you need to sleep on the couch at an angle due to an abusive cold.  So this long winded prequel is to explain why I’m thankful for my couch.  For the first time since I got home, I slept more than a couple hours and I slept without coughing.    I slept well enough that I do not feel like the living dead today…instead I feel like I’m only carrying around twice my usual weight.  Really that is an improvement.  I would have kept sleeping if my household could function without me in the morning…seemingly it can’t since Hubby got me up as soon as he came down stairs.

my bed last night…err early this morning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

