Skip to content

Homemade cough/congestion chest rub

November 27, 2012

I got the idea for this from Modern Alternative Health.  As anyone with in range of my blog or Facebook posts knows, I’ve been suffering a pretty nasty cold.  The hacking dry cough has been so bad that my usual remedy doesn’t do much for it.  I’ve coughed so hard and so often that my neck muscles are pissed enough to give me a headache and my tummy muscles are not too happy either.  I pinned this recipe about a month ago and decided to give it a shot since I’ve got most of the ingredients on hand.  My guess is a “healthier” version of Vicks Vapor Rub.  It does smell better and does not contain petroleum projects.  If you are pregnant or using on a child under 4 years of age, please read the original blog.  I’m not a medical professional of any shape, just a desperate woman.  I did not use either of the optional ingredients as I did not have them on hand.  Olive oil is supposed to be rosemary infused…yeah I didn’t do that either.

  • 1 ounce beeswax (confession time…I used beeswax candle stubs as that was all I had on hand)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (I used extra light from Bertolli)
  • 15 drops of lavender essential oil
  • 15 drops of eucalyptus essential oil
  • 20 drops (1/4 teaspoon) of tea tree oil (20 drops is roughly 1ml)
  • optional:  20 drops of rosemary essential oil
  • optional:  10 drops of peppermint oil

In a double boiler, (I used an aluminum insert that came with one of my pans because it is what I had but it would be better to rig one up out of glass…my aching head could not figure out how to do this up) add the beeswax, coconut oil and olive oil. Once blended, remove from heat and add essential oils.  Stir and then pour into wide mouthed containers (glass would be best in my opinion).  Once solidified, rub generous amounts on chest every time you start coughing hard.  So far it seems to be helping and actually doesn’t smell too bad.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

