Skip to content

Books ordered

November 26, 2012
tags: ,

I ordered the books I need for the book reviews.

  • Comparative Mythology by Professor Jaan Puvel  (I-E requirement)
    • Since I like to read myths, I figured this would be rather interesting.
  • Religion in the Ancient Greek City by Louise Bruit Zaidman (Hearth Culture requirement)
    • I have not read this one and I’ve read all the others.  I can’t imagine doing a report on Burkett, that thing is an encyclopedic tomb.  Homer is not the be all and end all in Hellenic studies.  That is like taking Neil Gaiman and making him the ultimate voice for your religion and culture.  Great writer but known for his interesting viewpoints.  We are too distant from that culture to be able to tell which of Homer’s writings are culturally true and which are poetic license!  I have Hesiod’s book but not by that specific translator.
  • Introduction to Pagan Studies (Pagan Studies Series) by Barbara Jane Davy (Modern Pagan requirement)
    • None of the other books interested me.  Even this one interested me only marginally (it is found on the online recommended reading list –  Alternates).  I really have no desire to read another book on the rise of Wicca.  Drawing Down the Moon I read ages ago and didn’t particularly like it then either.  The Hutton book tempted me as he is supposed to be a pretty good scholar.
One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2012 7:42 PM

    I have the Burkert book…you’re right about it being huge! I ended up switching hearth cultures so it’s sitting in my closet collecting dust. Let me know how Comparative Mythology is; I’m thinking about getting it. Also let me know about the Pagan Studies book. That sounds like it might be interesting.

    Blessings,
    Victoria

    Like

Leave a Reply

